Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Cactus Bowl - Coaches Announced

Freddy Jonas – Head Coach
Angelo State - 1984-2003
Texas A&I - 1967-1976 Assistant; Head Coach 1977-1978 (14-6-1)

San Antonio Express Story

John Cosgrove

Jeff Hamilton

Michael Thornton

Willie Crafts - All-American at Texas A&I; HC at Port Isabel, Brownsville Porter, and San
Antonio Lanier

Lewis Kelly

James Jefferson
- All-American at Texas A&I; former Seattle Seahawk player, New Orleans Saints scout

East Coaches

John Levra

1980 - Defensive Line Coach for the BC Lions of the Canadian Football League
1981 – 1985 Running Back Coach New Orleans Saints
1986 – 1992 Chicago Bears Staff
1993 – 1994 Offensive Line Coach for the Denver Broncos
1995 – 1997 Defensive Line Coach for the Minnesota Vikings
1998 – 2000 Defensive Line Coach Buffalo Bills
2001 - Named as Defensive Line Coach by Gregg Williams


1966 - New Mexico Highlands – Assistant Coach
1967 – 1970 New Mexico Highlands – Head Coach (Best record in school history)
1971 – 1974 Stephen F. Austin – Head Coach & Athletic Director
1975 – 1978 Kansas – Offensive Coordinator
1979 - North Texas State – Offensive Coordinator

Ross Fortier - Moorhead State-1970-92-School's all-time winningest coach. Led his team to seven post-season playoffs and nine conference championships. Led 1981 team to unbeaten regular season and number one ranking in the final regular season poll. Member of the NAIA Hall of Fame.

Carl Mauck - 13 year NFL veteran, including 7 with the Houston Oilers (remember him acclimating himself to the Pittsburg in January climate?)

Johnny Roland - Corpus Christi native; All-American at Missouri; 8 year NFL player with St Louis Cardinals and NY Giants; assistant coach at New Orleans, Green Bay, Philadelphia, Chicago, NY Jets, St Louis Rams, and Arizona Cardinals.

Phil Hansen - All-American at North Dakota State; Divsion II Hall of Famer; 11 year NFL veteran with the Buffalo Bills

John Paul Young

Jim Hess - SEO alum playing baseball and football; HC at Farmersville, Rockwell (2A State champion in 1964); Angelo State 1974-1982 (NAIA National Champion 1978); Stephen F Austin 1983-1989; New Mexico State 1990-1996.
ESPN NM St Article Go to #9

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico