Saturday, December 15, 2007

Woodhead wins second Harlon Hill trophy

By the Chadron State College Information Office

FLORENCE, Ala. — Danny Woodhead’s signature just got a little bit longer.

Now, thanks to claiming the 2007 Harlon Hill Trophy, Chadron State’s running back will have to add two-time NCAA Division II Player of the Year at the end of his name.

Woodhead, who also won the award in 2006, is just the third repeat winner in the award's 22-year history. Texas A&M Kingsville running back Johnny Bailey won the award three times and Valdosta State quarterback Dusty Bonner won the trophy twice.

"It's a great feeling," said Woodhead, who ended his collegiate career with an all-time record of 7,962 rushing yards. "It's nice to win the award, but it's not really for me. It's for Chadron State College, my teammates, and my coaches. If it wasn't for all of them, I wouldn't be here."

Woodhead, a 5-foot-8 senior from North Platte, received 36 first place votes and received points on 81 of the 105 ballots cast. He finished with 175 total points. Abilene Christian running back Bernard Scott finished second with 122 points and Delta State linebacker Michael Eubanks was third with 100 points.

"Honestly, Michael and Bernard are just as deserving of this award as I am," said Woodhead, who was also named to the Associated Press Little All-American team on Thursday. "Those two guys are great players on great teams and they each had wonderful seasons. It was fun getting to know them this week."

In addition to setting the all-time rushing record, Woodhead ranks second in all-purpose yardage with 9,479. His 109 career touchdowns ties the NCAA record and his 654 career points ranks second all-time.

This season Woodhead rushed for 1,597 yards and scored 23 touchdowns despite missing the majority of three games with a foot injury. He also caught 53 passes for 562 yards and three scores. He helped lead Chadron State to its second-straight Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference title and a spot in the quarterfinals of the Division II playoffs, and he's just the second player in NCAA history to post four consecutive 1,500 yard seasons.

Woodhead is also just the third player who has been a Hill candidate four years and he's the third different player from Chadron State to be a finalist. David Jones tied for sixth in 1990 and Matt Strand was eighth in 2001.

"I couldn't be happier for Danny," said Chadron State Head Coach Bill O'Boyle. "He's continued to mature and improve as a player and what he's done for Chadron State and our football team is immense. I'm proud to have coached him."

Including Woodhead, the finalists posted impressive numbers. Abilene Christian's Scott set Division II records for touchdowns scored in a season (39), rushing touchdowns scored in a season (35) and points scored in a season (234). He also rushed for 2,165 yards in 2007 to set the Lone Star Conference single season record.

Eubanks is only the second defensive player to ever reach the Harlon Hill finals. He set the all-time record for quarterback sacks with 39 and he ranks third all-time in Division II history in career tackles for loss with 70.5 for 355 yards. He finished the 2007 season with 90 tackles, 12 sacks, and 27 tackles for loss. Eubanks, along with Woodhead, also were selected as NCAA Division II Scholar Athlete winners. Each athlete was awarded an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.

With Woodhead winning his second Hill trophy, Chadron State becomes the sixth school in Division II to claim two or more Hill trophies. The others are Valdosta State, North Dakota State, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Pittsburg State, and North Alabama.

1 comment:

Danny W. said...

What a rip. Should have been Bernard Scott's.

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico