Wednesday, April 30, 2008

LSC Softball Post Season Awards

LSC All Academic Team

Central Oklahoma pitcher Alli Blake and Abilene Christian pitcher Kim McDonald highlighted the Lone Star Conference North and South Division All-Academic teams, respectively; as the league's annual softball academic awards were announced Wednesday by LSC officials.
For the second straight year, Blake was the North Division Academic Player of the Year, while McDonald picked up South Division Academic Player of the Year honors.
Blake was joined by 12 other stars on the LSC North Division All-Academic Team, while eight others joined McDonald on the South Division All-Academic Team. Furthermore, 32 more softball players were named to the LSC Commissioner's Honor Roll.
To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.20 grade point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Player of Year award and All-Academic Team are selected from the list of academically qualified players, with the league's sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement. All qualifying student-athletes not selected for the All-Academic Team are then named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll.
In all, 54 softball players were distinguished through the league's academic awards program, including at least one from all 14 softball-playing member institutions.
On the North All-Academic Team along with Blake were teammates Hillary Brandt and Meagan Campbell, Cameron's Jenna Boren and Whitney Richardson, Northeastern State's Shaelyn Moore, Aimee Bohannan, Kelsey Totten and Lauren Rome, Midwestern State's Kirsten Stonecipher and Katie Petersen, and Southeastern Oklahoma's Jami McAdoo and Ashley Graham.
Joining McDonald on the South Division All-Academic Team wereAngelo State's Whitney Meeks, Macy Baker and Brittney Cargill, Texas Woman's Billie Callahan and Allie Packer, Tarleton State's Kelli Gayle and West Texas A&M's Erin Hartigan.

For the complete list go to the LSC Website.

All Conference Teams

More than 70 softball standouts were honored Wednesday as the Lone Star Conference postseason awards were announced by league officials.
LSC North Division champion Southeastern Oklahoma had five players on the All-LSC North Division first team, while LSC South Division co-champion Angelo State had six All-LSC South first teamers.
Overall 73 student-athletes were recognized by the all-conference program, including at least one player from each of the 14 LSC softball teams. The awards are voted upon by the league coaches in each division.
SOSU, which won the North with a 21-3 mark, was represented on the All-LSC North first team by pitcher Marjorie Johnson, first baseman Benita Sanchez, outfielder Rachel Lynn, designated player Lesley Boyd and utility player Rachel Sill.
Additionally, Lynn shared LSC North Player of the Year honors, Sanchez was the Newcomer of the Year and Ron Faubion was named Coach of the Year for the Savage Storm.
Northeastern State's Aimee Bohannan was the LSC North co-Player of the Year, while Midwestern State's Katie Peterson was Pitcher of the Year and East Central's Kasey Barber earned Freshman of the Year acclaim.
In the South, ASU and Tarleton State shared the regular season title with identical 15-3 records. The Rambelles placed pitcher Kari Galm, first baseman Brittney Cargill, shortstop Macy Baker, third baseman Brittany Welch, outfielder Whitney Meeks and designated player Kristen Frye on the first team. TexAnns' ace Brooke Saulters earned first team recognition.
For the second straight year, Baker earned a share of the LSC South Player of the Year, Galm was the Pitcher of the year and Travis Scott earned Coach of the Year honors for ASU.
Tarleton's Kelli Gayle shared Player of the Year honors, while West Texas A&M's Kaitlyn Witte was Freshman of the Year and Abilene Christian's Jessica Shiery garnered Newcomer of the Year accolades.

For a complete list, go to the LSC Website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico