Monday, May 12, 2008

LSC announces Track & Field awards

Abilene Christian headlined the All-Lone Star Conference awards with 30 of the 48 student-athletes on the list for their efforts at the 2008 LSC Men's and Women's Track & Field Championships. The awards were announced Friday by league officials.

ACU's men and women swept the team championships for the third consecutive year at the 2008 LSC meet, which ended May 4 in Abilene, Texas. The Wildcat men had 16 all-conference performers, while the women added 14.

The list of all-conference performers includes the winner of each event at the conference meet, including all members of the winning relay teams, plus any athlete who scores at least 14 points at the meet. In all, 23 men and 25 women were recognized by the all-conference program

In addition to the announcement of All-LSC performers, the league recognized seven student-athletes and three coaches with individual awards.

On the men's side, TSU's Jared McNeil, ACU's Raymond Radway and ASU's Jeremy Jones shared the Cap Shelton Award as Outstanding Male Track Athlete, while the Wildcats Davy Manga earned the Oscar Stahan Award for the second straight year as Outstanding Male Field Athlete. Tarleton State's Pat Ponder was honored as Men's Track Coach of the Year.

For the women, ACU's Winrose Karunde and ASU's Yvette Pender shared the Wes Kittley Award as Outstanding Female Track Athlete, while ASU's Adree Lakey won the David Noble Award for the third straight year as Outstanding Female Field Athlete. ACU's Don Hood, TSU's Ponder and ASU's James Reid earned Women's Track Coach of the Year accolades.

The special awards were voted upon by the league coaches.

Many of the LSC track and field athletes are now preparing for the end of the 2008 outdoor season with the NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Track & Field Championships, set for May 22-24 in Walnut, Calif.

Complete List

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico