Friday, May 2, 2008

LSC Baseball Postseason Awards

Academic awards announced by LSC
Nearly 30 student-athletes were recognized for their accomplishments in the classroom Friday when Lone Star Conference officials announced the league's annual baseball academic awards.

Angelo State's Bradley Durst was named Academic Player of the Year to headline the All-Academic team. He was joined by nine others on the team, while 19 players were named to the LSC Commissioner's Honor Roll.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.20 grade point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Player of Year award and All-Academic Team are selected from the list of academically qualified players, with the league's sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement. All qualifying student-athletes not selected for the All-Academic Team are then named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll.

On the All-Academic Team along with Durst were Cameron's Jorey Price, Central Oklahoma's Andrew Foshee and Dean McIntyre, Abilene Christian's Thomas Bumpass, Trey Watten, Matt Spotanski and Willie Uechi, West Texas A&M's Billy Zeleznak and Northeastern State's Blake Neighbors.

Go to the LSC Website for the entire list of honorees.

LSC announces Baseball postseason awards

Over 60 baseball stars were honored Friday when Lone Star Conference officials announced the league's annual baseball postseason awards.

The honorees included four first team selections for Central Oklahoma, Angelo State and Southeastern Oklahoma. LSC regular season champion Abilene Christian had three first-teamers.

A total of 61 student-athletes were recognized by the all-conference program, including at least one player from each of the 12 baseball teams in the LSC. The awards are voted upon by the league coaches.

ACU's Mike Elkerson earned Player of the Year acclaim, while UCO's Clint Straka and the Wildcats Trey Watten shared Pitcher of the Year honors. East Central's Clint Bowker and West Texas A&M's Darby Walker were named co-Freshman of the Year, while ACU's Britt Bonneau was tabbed Coach of the Year.

ASU led way with four first-team picks and four second-teams for eight total picks, while Eastern New Mexico had two first-teamers and five second-team selections for seven total. SOSU and Cameron each had six players on the first and second teams.

Go to the LSC Website for the entire team.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico