Monday, July 7, 2008

LSC selects 2008 Hall of Honor inductees

The latest inductees to the Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor include a former volleyball standout and two former football stars league officials announced on Monday.

Sarah Butler Carthel of West Texas A&M, Arthur James of East Texas State (now Texas A&M-Commerce) and John Randle of Texas A&M-Kingsville compose the 2008 class of inductees for the LSC Hall of Honor, which recognizes outstanding individuals who have brought pride and honor to the conference through their contributions as an athlete or who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the betterment of the conference as a coach or administrator.

The inductees were chosen by a panel of athletic administrators throughout the league.

"This is the twelfth class to be inducted into the LSC Hall of Honor, and for it to include three great athletes like this speaks volumes about the tradition in this conference and the quality of student-athletes that have competed in the Lone Star Conference over the years," said Stan Wagnon, LSC commissioner. "I remember watching Sarah play volleyball at WTAMU. Her ability and intensity was unmatched, and obviously she earned her place in history by leading the Lady Buffs to a national championship. And I never grow weary of hearing stories about the football legends that have played in this conference. Certainly King Arthur James and John Randle are among the greatest, and they're both very deserving of this distinction."

Each of the inductees will receive the LSC's signature Hall of Honor award, a 15-inch custom-sculpted eagle figurine mounted on a cherrywood base. The awards for Butler Carthel, James and Randle are to be presented this fall with ceremonies at each recipient's institution.

Here's a closer look at each of the 2008 inductees to the LSC Hall of Honor:

Sarah Butler Carthel, Volleyball, West Texas A&M: Butler, a member of the 1994 Class 5A state championship Amarillo High School volleyball team, transferred to WTAMU in 1997 after an outstanding freshman season at the University of Texas. Her impact was immediate as she helped lead the Lady Buffs to a 37-3 record and the 1997 Division II National Championship.

In 1997, WTAMU won their last 18 matches, including the Lone Star Conference and the NCAA South Central Regional tournament titles. At the NCAA Elite Eight, held in Bakersfield, Calif., the Lady Buffs swept New Haven in three games, then defeated host Cal-State Bakersfield in four games. In the national championship match against Barry, the Lady Buffs claimed the school's third national title, winning in five games (4-15, 15-13, 21-19, 7-15, and 18-16 in rally scoring). Barry led 16-15 for match point before Butler tallied her 26th kill to tie the score and give the Lady Buffs an opportunity to secure the championship. En route, Butler set an NCAA tournament record with 40 digs in the match.

In 1998, Butler led the Lady Buffs to the regional tournament and in 1999 lead WTAMU to a 36-2 record and an appearance in the national semifinals. Butler's team record over that three-year span was an incredible 98-12.

She was selected first-team AVCA All-America from 1997-1999 and was a two-time NCAA Division II National Player of the Year selection, earning the honor in both 1997 and 1999.

Butler finished her career with 2,000 career kills and holds the top three marks for match kills in WT history with 41, 40, and 39. She also holds the top two marks for kill attempts in a match with 92 and 86. The 41 kills in 92 attempts were set in her final match on December 4, 1999, at Battle Creek, Mich., against Tampa in the national semifinals.

Currently, Butler is an assistant volleyball coach at WTAMU and is married to WTAMU football defensive coordinator, Colby Carthel.

Arthur James, Football, Texas A&M-Commerce: James played at East Texas State from 1966-69, rushing for 4,285 yards. At the present time that is fifth all-time in Lone Star Conference history. During his career, he was a three-time single-season leader in rushing.

Among his many honors include being inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame in 1979, the 75th Anniversary All-LSC team, a two-time NAIA first team All-American in 1968 and 1969 after earning honorable mention honors in 1967, an AP second team All-American in 1969 and honorable mention selection in 1968. James was also selected All-LSC three-consecutive years from 1967 to 1969, including an unanimous and most valuable back selection in 1969. Among his other honors are the Dallas Morning News Sophomore of the Year and Fort Worth Star-Telegram All-Texas Team in 1967 and 1968. He was a first team Dallas Morning News, United Press International and Fort Worth Star-Telegram All-Texas honoree in 1968 and First Team United Press International again in 1969.

He currently holds 10 A&M-C records including the single-season mark for all-purpose yards, three single-game records and six career marks. During his career, he had two 1,000-yard seasons in 1968 and in 1969 and ran over 200-yards in a game on five occasions and currently has the top two single-game rushing efforts in school history.

Finally, his number 30 is still the only retired number in school history.

John Randle, Football, Texas A&M-Kingsville: Randle will become the sixth Javelina football player inducted into the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame this July.

Randle, a native of Hearne, Texas, came to Texas A&I (now Texas A&M-Kingsville) in 1988 after two seasons at Trinity Valley Junior College.

A defensive end for the Javelinas, Randle had a spectacular two-year career, leading the team to a 20-4 record, a pair of Lone Star Conference titles and two trips to the NCAA Division II playoffs, including a spot in the 1988 semifinals.

As a junior in 1988, Randle was a first team AP Little All-America selection, a first team All-LSC Pick and was voted the league Lineman of the Year. In 10 regular season games he had 37 solo tackles, 21 assisted tackles, one fumble recovery and an amazing 20 quarterback sacks. During the Javelinas' three playoff games he had two quarterback sacks, a fumble recovery and 12 total tackles. The Javelinas led the LSC in rush defense, allowing only 110 yards per game and nine total rushing touchdowns. The Javelinas went 10-3 and advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA Division II playoffs.

As a senior in 1989, Randle earned first team All-America recognition from the Football Gazette, was again voted the LSC Lineman of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year and earned first team All-LSC honors. He was also named to the LSC Team of the Decade. Randle had 33 solo tackles, 14 assisted tackles and 14 quarterback sacks in 10 regular season games. The Javelinas won another conference title, going 7-0 and finished 10-1 overall, falling the first round of the NCAA Division II playoffs.

During his two seasons he played alongside some of the greatest players in Javelina history including Johnny Bailey and Heath Sherman.

After his Javelina career, Randle established himself as one of the greatest interior lineman in NFL history.

Randle played 14 years in the NFL with the Minnesota Vikings and the Seattle Seahawks. Named an All-Pro seven times, he recorded double-digit sacks during eight different seasons, including a career-high and league-leading 15.5 sacks in 1997. He retired as the league's all-time leader in sacks by a defensive tackle (137.5).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico