Thursday, July 31, 2008

Women's Soccer: Preseason poll announced

Central Oklahoma is the top choice to win the Lone Star Conference women's soccer championship according to the league's 2008 preseason poll released Thursday.
UCO won the regular season title with a perfect 10-0-0 conference record and advanced to the Midwest Regional final in 2007. The Bronchos own an all-time 69-13-3 mark in league games since the program started in 1998.
The Bronchos claimed 21 first-place votes among the 27 ballots that were cast by the league's head coaches and sports information directors and various media representatives. UCO totaled 290 points in the preseason poll to finish in front of its conference opponents.
Midwestern State was second with one first-place nod and 255 points, while reigning LSC champion West Texas A&M was third with 237 including four first-place votes and Texas A&M-Commerce was fourth with 203 and the other first-place tally.
Angelo State finished fifth with 182, followed by Texas Woman's 163, Abilene Christian 141, Northeastern State 107, East Central 77, Eastern New Mexico 73 and Southwestern Oklahoma 54.
The 2008 soccer season starts on the pitch in late August. Each of the 11 LSC teams will play the other once during the regular season, with the results of those contests to be used in determining the seeds for a six-team postseason conference tournament. This year's tournament will be hosted by the No. 1 seed on Nov. 6-7-9, 2008.

2008 LSC Preseason Soccer Poll
1 Central Oklahoma (21) 290
2 Midwestern State (1) 255
3 West Texas A&M (4) 237
4 Texas A&M-Commerce (1) 203
5 Angelo State 182
6 Texas Woman's 163
7 Abilene Christian 141
8 Northeastern State 107
9 East Central 77
10 Eastern New Mexico 73
11 Southwestern Oklahoma State 54
Women's Soccer preseason honors announced

Three Lone Star Conference women's soccer standouts were tabbed for preseason honors for 2008 league officials announced Thursday.
West Texas A&M's Elisabeth Markussen was named Offensive Player of the Year, Central Oklahoma's Alli Miller was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year and Northeastern State's Patricia Nardy earned Goalkeeper of the Year acclaim.
All three were overwhelming choices in a vote of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region. Markussen, a senior from Borkup, Denmark, had a solid campaign in 2007 leading the Lady Buffs to the LSC Championship with 14 goals including four game-winners and 32 points.
Miller, a junior from Norman, Okla., was named first-team All-LSC for the second straight season in 2007. She led a UCO defense that yielded a mere 22 goals on the season with only one surrendered during conference play.
Nardy, a sophomore from Sao Paulo, Brazil, had an outstanding year in 2007 recording 103 saves in 20 games. She was a second team All-LSC selection as a freshman.
The trio will lead their respective teams onto the pitch in late August as the 2008 season begins. The LSC has 11 teams ready to play this fall, with each team playing a 10-game conference schedule as part of its regular season slate.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico