Tuesday, December 9, 2008

AVCA Announces NCAA Division II All-American Teams

CANYON, Texas - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce the 28th annual AVCA All-America teams for NCAA Division II women's volleyball, officials released Wednesday. Laura Prinsen was selected to the AVCA All-American first team and Melissa Harper and Katie Rickwartz were selected as AVCA All-American honorable mentions.

The 2008 All-America selections were made by the AVCA Division II All-America Committee: Laurie Lokash, Slippery Rock University, chairperson; Mario Andaya, Central Washington University; Christy Benner, Wheeling Jesuit University; Jim Boos, University of Minnesota Duluth; Todd Caughlin, St. Mary's University; Shelton Collier, Wingate University; Sandy Hoffman, Bentley College; Deanne Scanlon, Grand Valley State University; and Jill Stephens, Florida Southern College.

Laura Prinsen, a 5-9 right-side/opposite for West Texas A&M University, is a junior from Spring, Texas. This season Prinsen, who is ranked in the top-10 nationally in kills per set, led the Lady Buffs to their third-consecutive conference title and into the semifinals of the South Central Region Tournament. For her efforts, she earned the LSC Offensive Player of the Year award, was named to the All-LSC First-Team and now receives her first AVCA All-America honor.

Rickwartz earned honorable mention honors last season. This is the first AVCA All-America honor for Harper.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico