Wednesday, April 29, 2009

A&M-Commerce vs Abilene Christian in the Cotton Bowl

2009 Harvey Martin Classic To Be Held on September 12th

The Texas A&M University-Commerce athletic department announced on Wednesday that the 2009 Harvey Martin Classic will take place on September 12th at the Cotton Bowl. The game will include Texas A&M-Commerce against Abilene Christian with kickoff at 5 p.m.

Prior to the game, there will be a press conference, luncheon and a golf tournament. For more information about the events, please call the athletic department at (903) 886-5558.

The contest is named after former East Texas State and Dallas Cowboys standout, Harvey Martin, who was inducted into the university’s Hall of Fame in 1987. He was selected an Associated Press Little, Football News and NAIA All-American en route to leading the Lions to a national title as a senior in 1972.

In 2007, Martin was selected to the Lone Star Conference 75th Anniversary Football Team and was named LSC Defensive Player of the Decade for the 1970's. In addition, he earned first team defensive lineman honors for the LSC Football Team of the 1970's and was selected to the LSC All 25-Year Team, where he was recognized as the Best Defensive Player and a first team defensive lineman. Martin was a first team all-Lone Star Conference selection as a junior in 1971 and as a senior in 1972.

Martin went on to become a third round selection by the Dallas Cowboys in the 1973 NFL Draft. He was a four-time Pro Bowl selection (1976, 1977, 1978, 1979) and four-time all-pro selection (1976, 1977, 1979, 1982). He was named to the NFL All-Decade Team for the 1970's and was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1977. In Super Bowl XII, he was named the game's MVP along with teammate Randy White.

A&M-Commerce maintains a perfect 7-0 record in the Cotton Bowl, including a 27-15 win last year in the inaugural Harvey Martin Classic over East Central.


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

so much for the perfect record. another chance university will win by 30+

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico