Thursday, May 28, 2009

Afternoon Update 5-28

Lakey Finalist for Honda Award
Angelo State senior thrower Adree Lakey has been announced as one of the 11 finalists for the 2008-09 Division II Athlete of the Year sponsored by Honda.

Lakey, a native of Sylvester, sparked the Rambelles to their best finish in school history at last week's NCAA D-II Outdoor Track & Field National Championships. The Roby High School product was the meet's top point scorer with 29 points, placing in the top four in all four throwing disciplines.

Already a two-time national champion, Lakey added her third national title this spring as she captured the crown in the shot put last week with the fifth-best throw in D-II history at 52'10". She claimed the national title in the hammer throw as a sophomore in 2007 and in the discus throw as a junior in 2008. Lakey placed second last week in the discus, third in the hammer and fourth in the javelin and ended her career as an 11-time All-American at ASU.

A four-time All-Lone Star Conference selection, Lakey led the Rambelles to their third conference title in school history earlier this month. At the LSC Championships, Lakey scored 34 points, earning a conference title in the shot put, placing second in both the hammer and javelin and third in the discus. She was named the David Noble Award winner three times in her career, an award given to the top female field at the LSC Championships.

Now in its 33rd year, the D-II Athlete of the Year recognized the top woman collegiate athlete in each of the 11 sports in D-II. D-II athletes are nominated by national coaches association for each of the 11 sports: basketball, cross country, field hockey, golf, lacrosse, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, tennis, track and field and volleyball.

The awards program is sponsored by American Honda Motor Co., Inc., and to celebrate these awards Honda donates $1,000 to the women's athletic fund of each nominee’s university. The winner's institution will also receive a $5,000 donation.

A press conference will be held June 22 at Columbia University in New York City to announce and present the D-II Athlete of the Year, along with the recipients of the D-III Athlete of the Year, the Honda-Broderick Cup and the Honda Inspiration Award.

Lakey is looking to become just the second athlete from the LSC to receive the award. Abilene Christian's Jennifer Clarkson won the award in 1996 representing the Wildcat basketball program.

2008-09 D-II Athlete of the Year Nominees
Katie Cezat, basketball, Hillsdale
Kristin Erb, softball, Lock Haven
Katie Hogan, lacrosse, C. W. Post
Adree Lakey, track and field, Angelo State
Yuan Quing Li, swimming, Drury
Lyndsay McBride, golf, Indianapolis
Maggie McNamara, volleyball, Concordia (Minn.)
Sona Novakova, tennis, Armstrong Atlantic State
Jessica Pixler, cross country, Seattle Pacific
Meredith Teague, soccer, Seattle Pacific
Jamie Vanartsdalen, field hockey, Bloomsburg

Wilson signs four to softball squad
ABILENE, Texas - Just three weeks after completing the 2009 season where the ACU Wildcats won a school record 43 games, head coach Chantiel Wilson announced Wednesday the signing of four junior college transfers to bolster the 2010 squad.

Wilson saw seven seniors depart after exhausting their eligibility; ACU’s season ended with a loss to Missouri Western in the NCAA Division II South Central Region Tournament May 9.

“We are excited about the players joining our rosters this fall,” said Wilson. “The players coming in are experienced and have had great success at their previous programs. These players have been well coached and are fundamentally sound. Their knowledge of the game will help their transition into our program.”

Candice Miller hails from Antelope Valley College and played first and third base for two seasons. In her freshman campaign, she was a first-team juco all-America selection, and over two seasons she hit above .400, hit 27 doubles, belted 11 homers and drove in 77 runs. “We are excited about Candice coming to ACU. She is a hard-nosed player who plays the game the way it should be played,” Wilson said. “Candice has a quick bat with a lot of power and understands the fundamentals of hitting. Defensively she is capable of playing both corners well.”

Andi Anti was a two-year shortstop for Palomar College and also earned first team all-America honors in 2008. In two seasons, she hit 31 doubles, six triples, nine homers and drove in 58 RBI. “We are looking forward to Andi joining our program. She is a leader at the shortstop position with a great a great arm with excellent agility,” said Wilson. “Offensively she has put up great numbers the past couple years and we feel her best is yet to come.”

Shawna Barrow will join Anti from Palomar College in San Marcos, Calif. and was a utility player for the program for two seasons. In 2008 she hit .380 and stole 23 bases, but in 2009 she hit an astounding .475 with 11 doubles, four triples, 28 RBI and 19 stolen bases. “Shawna is an excellent athlete who can do a lot of things. She is a lefty slap-hitter who has really developed” said Wilson. “This past spring Shawna was one of the state leaders in hits and stolen bases. She played shortstop her freshman year at Palomar and was the team’s center fielder this past season. We expect to use Shawna in the middle infield next year with her excellent glove and range.”

Brittany Rexroat, the only non-California signee will join ACU from Phoenix College and help bolster the Wildcats’ pitching staff. In two years, she compiled a 24-5 record and struck out 178 hitters in 175 innings of work. “We are excited about Brittany joining ACU this fall. She comes from Phoenix College who played a key role in their 2008 National championship campaign,” Wilson said. “Brittany is a tough competitor who pays attention to her fundamentals and is tight around the zone with a variety of pitches. We expect great things from Brittany at ACU in the next two years.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico