Tuesday, August 18, 2009

LSC Roundup 8-18

Three MSU quarterbacks vie for backup spot
Last year the Midwestern State Mustangs had an all-out battle for the starting quarterback spot as they had to replace record-setting signal-caller Daniel Polk.

Transfer Zack Eskridge won that battle and is now firmly entrenched as the No. 1 man.

There is another battle going on this preseason, but this time it is for the backup role.

“It’s a Battle Royale,” MSU offensive coordinator Dean Norsworthy said. “Benny Mac (Ben McMahan) came out of the spring as the No. 2 guy and has played well, but Brad Green came out strong and was challenging him until he got sick and fell behind. Brandon Kelsey came back and is right in the thick of things. Because of his athleticism we might have to use him for some spot play. He’s exceeded expectations.”

LSC Fall Sports Preview Series: Abilene Christian
In just one week, the Abilene Christian football team experienced quite the rollercoaster ride, participating in arguably the wildest football game in Division II history, before suffering their only loss, which abruptly ended their season and dashed any national championship hopes.
But undoubtedly, the 2008 season was a huge success for ACU, which won its first conference championship with a 10-0 regular season, becoming just the second team in the school's 87-year history to go unbeaten.

Click here to see video from LSC Football Media Day

But it was the second round of the Division II playoffs that people will never forget about last season. ACU outlasted Lone Star Conference rival West Texas A&M in an epic shootout, 93-68 in a game that broke 45 NCAA, LSC and ACU records.

Diamond Greyhounds Bolster Roster With Three Amarillo Area Players

PORTALES, N.M.- Eastern New Mexico University baseball coach Phil Clabaugh has announced the signing ofBrandt Guyer (C, 6-1, 165, Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo HS), Tyler Vance (LHP, Amarillo, Texas/Randall HS)and Nick Hogue (P, Canyon, Texas/Canyon HS) toNational Letters of Intent to play for the Greyhounds in the upcoming 2010 season.

The trio should impact the lineup both on the mound and at the plate, with both Hogue and Vance turning in impressive performances, posting 7-1 and 14-2 records respectively. Hogue fanned 49 batters last season, in addition to posting a .388 batting average, driving in 19 runs and stealing 10 bases. Hogue's performance helped lift the Eagles to a 25-5 record and a postseason berth against Del Valle. Vance struck out 38 batters as a senior at Randall and helped lead the Raiders to a 24-11 record, including tossing a complete-game, 3-2 victory in the opening game of a playoff series against Arlington Heights. AHS scored twice in the first inning, but Vance shut them down the rest of the way, enabling Randal HS to plate three runs in the seventh inning for the win.

Guyer registered a .400 batting average at AHS, helping lead the squad to 14 wins on the season, including a nine-game winning streak. He played a key role as the Sandies broke open a close game against Lubbock HS and pulled away for a victory.

Chadron State Ranked 15th In D2 Football.com Preseason Poll
1. Grand Valley State; 2. Northwest Missouri; 3. Delta State; 4. Minnesota-Duluth; 5. North Alabama; 6. Abilene Christian; 7. Pittsburg State; 8. Valdosta State; 9. California; 10. Carson-Newman; 11. Bloomsburg; 12. West Texas A&M; 13. Ashland; 14. Central Washington; 15. Chadron State; 16. Tuskegee; 17. Minnesota State; 18. Tusculum; 19. Catawba; 20. West Chester; 21. Edinboro; 22. IUP; 23. Nebraska-Omaha; 24. Texas A&M-Kingsville; 25. Wayne State (Neb.)

D2Football.com All-America Preseason Team
First Team Offense

QB – Trevor Harris, Edinboro; RB – La’Ron Council, NW Missouri; Joique Bell, Wayne State (Mich.); WR – Johnny Spevak, Central Washington; Kurt Adams, Harding; TE – Ryan Paulson, West Chester; OL – Tony Washington, Abilene Christian; J’Marcus Webb, West Texas A&M; Jared Veldheer, Hillsdale; Terence Crosby, Catawba; Seth Haun, Winona State.
First Team Defense
DL – Sean Paddock, NW Missouri; Marc Schiechl, Colorado Mines; Drew Berube, Hillsdale; Danny Richard, Grand Valley State; LB – Lardester Hicks-Green, Delta State; John Jacobs, Saginaw Valley; Mike Johnson, North Alabama; DB – Myles Burnside, NW Missouri; Akwasi Owusu-Ansah, IUP; Terrence Johnson, California; C.J. Lovett, Fort Hays.
First Team Specialists
Returner – Deante Steel, Shepherd; K – Mark Petro, Hillsdale; P – Will Batson, North Alabama.

Second Team Offense
QB – Billy Cundiff, Ashland; RB – Isaac Odim, Minnesota-Duluth; Jarom Freeman, Southern Connecticut; WR – Logan Masters, Wayne State; Kelton Tindal, Newberry; TE – Isaac Stockton, Chadron State; OL – Sam Geldmaker, Gannon; Bill Behling, Michigan Tech; Torrence Wright, Arkansas Tech; Tubias Lemke, Minnesota-Duluth; Trevis Turner, Abilene Christian.
Second Team Defense
DL – Andre Bernardi, North Greenville; Jimmy Saddler-McQueen, Texas A&M-Kingsville; Phillip Stevenson, St. Augustine’s; McKenzie Matthews, Bentley; LB – Jared Brawner, Missouri Southern; Zach Watkins, Washburn; Mike Dell, West Chester; DB – Alex Kuhlman, Pittsburg State; Jake McGuckin, Grand Valley State; Courtney Smith, Central Washington; Anthony Fields, Findlay.
Second Team Specialists
Returner – Kelvin Rodgers; Minnesota State; K – Jeremy Ditzler, Gannon; P – John Gregory, Tusculum.

Mathis named to D2Football.com All-LSC Preseason Team
WICHITA FALLS, Texas - Midwestern State senior running back BeeJay Mathis garnered D2Football.com Preseason All-Lone Star Conference honors as released Monday morning.

The 5-9, 185-pounder from Dallas earned second-team Don Hansen Football Gazette All-Super Region 4 honors and was a first-team All-LSC performer as a return specialist last season after finishing eighth in NCAA Division II with a 15.6-yard return average.

Mathis, who was also a preseason College Draft Services Honorable Mention All American, also became MSU's all-time leader in punt return yardage last season with a two-year total of 736 yards on 48 career returns.

Mathis is the lone Midwestern State player on the preseason squad.

The Mustangs open the 2009 campaign when they play host to New Mexico Highlands on Aug. 29 at Memorial Stadium. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m.

2009 D2Football.com Preseason All-LSC Team
Offensive Player of the Year - Keithon Flemming, West Texas A&M

Defensive Player of the Year - Jimmy Sadler-McQueen, Texas A&M-Kingsville

Pos. Player School Class
QB Taylor Harris West Texas A&M Jr.
RB Keithon Flemming West Texas A&M Sr.
RB Roderick Smith Tarleton State Sr.
WR Edmund Gates Abilene Christian Jr.
WR Ryan Lincoln Texas A&M-Kingsville Jr.
TE Joe Sawyer Southwestern Oklahoma Sr.
OL Tony Washington Abilene Christian Sr.
OL J'Marcus Webb West Texas A&M Sr.
OL Trevis Turner Abilene Christian Jr.
OL R.J. Brisbon Texas A&M-Commerce Sr.
OL Merkeith Wesley Texas A&M-Kingsville Sr.

Pos. Player School Class
DL Jimmy Sadler-McQueen Texas A&M-Kingsville Sr.
DL Jamal Steamer Tarleton State Sr.
DL Aston Whiteside Abilene Christian So.
DL Broderick Marshall West Texas A&M Sr.
LB Marcus Phillips Tarleton State Sr.
LB Fred Thompson Abilene Christian Jr.
LB Jaron Burgess Southwestern Oklahoma Jr.
DB Alex Harbison Abilene Christian Sr.
DB Tony Harp Abilene Christian Sr.
DB Kurt Rossum Texas A&M-Commerce Sr.
DB Chad Washington Texas A&M-Commerce Sr.

Pos. Player School Class
AP BeeJay Mathis Midwestern State Sr.
PK Garrett Lindholm Tarleton State Sr.
P Cody Smith Texas A&M-Kingsville Sr.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico