Friday, October 23, 2009

LSC Cross Country Championship Info

LSC Cross Country Championships to be held Saturday
October 23, 2009

The Lone Star Conference will hold its cross country championships this Saturday, October 24, at the West Texas A&M University Horse Center in Canyon, Texas. Midwestern State's women and Abilene Christian's men will look to defend their 2008 titles. The championships will consist of a six kilometer race for the women starting at 9:30 a.m. and an eight kilometer race for the men starting at 10:15 a.m.

Click here to follow the championships

The LSC has held cross country championships for the men each year since 1982, and ACU has won all but four of them, including the last 18 in a row. The Wildcats have been dominant on the women's side as well, winning 16 of the 25 championship meets, which began in 1984. Other men's champions include Central Oklahoma in 1989 and 1990 and Texas A&M-Kingsville in 1984 and 1986. The other women's championships have been won by UCO in 2000, former LSC member Harding in 1999, Angelo State, which won the title four straight years from 1987-90 in addition to 1992 and 1998, and MSU picked up its only cross country championship last year.

The Mustangs won the title in 2008 by placing five runners in the top 20 and three in the top 10, led by Katie Stepp, who finished 4th, 2008 LSC Freshman of the Year Lindsey Pate, who finished 7th, and Kayla Hendrix, who finished 10th. Stepp has graduated, but both Hendrix and Pate will be back in the race for MSU this year. The 2008 women's race was won by ACU's Winrose Karunde, who finished in 21:39.

On the men's side, ACU continued its dominance in 2008, with five of the six top finishers, led by individual medalist Daniel Maina, who finished in 23:32, second-place finisher Cleophas Tanui and third-place finisher Daniel Nyango. Both Maina and Tanui will be back on the course for the Wildcats.

So far in 2009, TAMUK's Erica Alvarado has the top time in 6K races, at 22:54.6, which is faster than Southwestern Oklahoma State's Chelsey Dillon (23:21) and ahead of Javelina teammate Jessica Martinez (24:31.1).

For the men, Tarleton State's Jared McNeil has the top 8K time on the season at 24:35.12, in front of teammate Gerzain Valenzuela (24:35.93) and ahead of ACU's Amos Sang (24:38.43).

Cross Country All-Academic teams announced
East Central's Tyler Jackson and Midwestern State's Kayla Hendrix earned special recognition Friday when Lone Star Conference officials announced the league's cross country all-academic awards.

Jackson was named the LSC Men's Academic Runner of the Year, while Hendrix was tabbed LSC Women's Academic Runner of the Year. Both were voted to the LSC All-Academic team, which recognized 10 runners -- five men and five women -- for both academic and athletic achievement. The All-Academic teams are voted upon by the league's sports information directors.

Besides the All-Academic teams being announced, another 19 runners including 16 women and three men were named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll for their academic success. To be eligible for both the Honor Roll and the All-Academic team, student-athletes must maintain a 3.30 cumulative grade point average.

With Jackson on the men's All-Academic team were Texas A&M-Commerce's Tyler Tyndell, Brandon Womack and Logan Kelly and Eastern New Mexico's Logan Robertson.

Joining Hendrix on the women's All-Academic team were teammate Hassie Sutton, Texas A&M-Kingsville's Erica Alvarado and Jessica Martinez and Angelo State's Brittney Heath.

All the runners will compete in the LSC Cross Country Championships this Saturday, Oct. 24, in Canyon, Texas.

2009 Men's Cross Country All-Academic Team
Tyler Jackson - East Central, Sr.- Envir. Hlth Science
Tyler Tyndell - Texas A&M-Commerce, Sr. - Kinesiology
Logan Robertson - Eastern New Mexico, Sr. - Business
Brandon Womack - Texas A&M-Commerce, Jr. - Kinesiology
Logan Kelly - Texas A&M-Commerce, Sr. - Kinesiology

Academic Runner of the Year: Tyler Jackson, East Central

Texas A&M-Kingsville: Mario Maldonado, So.
West Texas A&M: Josh Braddock, So.; Jarret Kachel, Sr.

2009 Women's Cross Country All-Academic Team
Kayla Hendrix - Midwestern State, So. - Accounting
Erica Alvarado - Texas A&M-Kingsville, Sr. - Biomedical Science
Brittney Heath - Angelo State, Sr. - Art
Hassie Sutton - Midwestern State, Jr. - Exercise Physiology
Jessica Martinez - Texas A&M-Kingsville, So. - Communication Science

Academic Runner of the Year: Kayla Hendrix, Midwestern State

Abilene Christian: Lindsey Putman, Jr.;
Angelo State: Alyssa Priest, So., Paige Massingill, Sr.;
East Central: Jessica Nguyen, So. Silvia Barkechir, Sr., Carina Clemente, Jr.;
Southeastern Oklahoma: Jenny Paine, So. Andi Richardson, Sr.;
Southwestern Oklahoma: Melissa Banks, So., Micah Mathis, So., Brittany Strickland, Sr.,Laura Trautman, Sr.;
Tarleton State: Katherine Grillo, So., Morgan Kuykendall, Sr.;
West Texas A&M: Eddah Toroitich, So.; Allie Reyna, So.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico