Tuesday, October 27, 2009

LSC Roundup 10-27

D2football.com Top 25 Media Poll
1 North Alabama 9-0
2 Central Washington 9-0
3 Northwest Missouri 8-1
4 Minnesota State 9-0
5 Minnesota-Duluth 8-1
6 Grand Valley 8-1
7 Tarleton State 8-1
8 Nebraska-Kearney 8-1
9 Texas A&M-Kingsville 8-1
10 Bloomsburg 8-1
11 Carson-Newman 7-2
12 Saginaw Valley 7-2
13 Abilene Christian 7-2
14 California 7-2
15 Tuskegee 6-2
16 Albany State 7-1
17 Missouri Western 7-2
18 Central Missouri 7-2
19 Charleston 8-1
20 Midwestern State 7-2
21 UNC Pembroke 7-1
22 West Liberty 8-1
23 Hillsdale 7-2
24 Washburn 6-3
25 Edinboro 7-2

MSU is up to No. 4 in Super Regional
Midwestern State moved up two more spots to fourth in Super Region Four Monday when the NCAA Division II National Football Committee released its latest rankings. The Mustangs improved to 7-2 with a 43-16 win over Central Oklahoma Saturday night at Memorial Stadium and have now won their last two contests.

The rankings determine postseason seeding as the top six teams in each of the four super regions advance to the NCAA Division II playoffs.

ACU still has hopes for playoffs
The Abilene Christian University football team’s playoff hopes aren’t dead just yet. The Wildcats, who lost their second straight game on Saturday, dropped from No. 4 to No. 7 in the NCAA Super Regional Four poll released on Monday.

The top six teams in the final region poll on Nov. 9 advance to the Division II playoffs. So that puts ACU on the outside looking in at the moment. But the Wildcats (7-2) still control their destiny, since they still play two teams ranked ahead of them in the region poll, beginning with Texas A&M-Kingsville on Saturday at Shotwell Stadium. Kingsville (8-1) is ranked No. 5 in the region, while Midwestern State (7-2) is No. 4. ACU plays Midwestern State in the regular-season finale on Nov. 5 in Wichita Falls.

Washburn key to Tarleton State's success
Tarleton State senior center Dustin Washburn was nowhere near ready to go home Saturday night after the Texans’ 13-6 win over Abilene Christian. After all, he had plenty of more hugs to give.

The Abilene Cooper graduate was not through savoring the No. 11 Texans’ thrilling victory over the ninth-ranked Wildcats that greatly enhanced TSU’s hopes of making the NCAA Division II playoffs for the first time since 2003.

“This win sets us up pretty big right now,” Washburn said in the joyous Texans locker room. “We’re sitting right where we need to be.”

nsu's safety net
To say that junior safety Nick Dobler stepped into big shoes at the safety position would be a big understatement.

Dobler came into the 2009 season as the player who would be replacing Broderick Mondy. Mondy finished his career with trophy case full of achievements including being a three-time all-conference selection and LSC Defensive Back of the Year Award winner last season. Despite the high standards at the safety position, Dobler has performed well in the first nine games this season. He is fourth on the team in tackles with 57 and second in interceptions with two.

“He’s really picked it up and done a great job,” said NSU assistant coach Matt Hodgson. “It’s been a pretty good transition.”

Lady Buffs remain No. 6 in volleyball poll
The West Texas A&M Lady Buffs remained at No. 6 in the American Volleyball Coaches Association Division II top 25 poll, released Monday. The Lady Buffs (26-3, 10-0 Lone Star Conference) won four matches last week, including a five-game victory over rival Lubbock Christian, another nonconference match with Incarnate Word and two LSC matches with Southeasern Oklahoma and East Central.

The Lady Buffs play three matches this week - two conference contests on the road against Tarleton State and Texas A&M-Kingsville on Thursday and Saturday, with a match at St. Edward's in Austin on Friday.

Cross Country: LSC announces honors

The Lone Star Conference recognized twenty student-athletes and two head coaches as league officials announced the annual cross country all-conference honors. The announcement comes following the LSC Cross Country Championships on October 24. ACU reigned in the men's eight kilometer race for the 19th consecutive year, while MSU prevailed for its second straight league title on the women's six kilometer course.

All-conference honors are given to those runners who finish among the top 10 individually at the conference meet, while additional awards are presented for Coach of the Year and Freshman of the Year in both the men's and women's divisions. ACU's Sam Burroughs and MSU's Koby Styles earned men's and women's Coach of the Year acclaim after guiding their respective teams to conference titles. Freshman of the Year honors went to ACU's Colby Delbene and West Texas A&M's Aries Bazaldua. The coaching honors were selected by a vote of all the LSC head coaches, while the freshman awards went to the top freshman finishers at the league championships.

The Wildcats Sang won the men's individual title to headline the all-conference list. He was joined by teammates Cleophas Tanui and Delbene on the All-LSC list. Gerzain Valenzuela and Jared McNeil guided Tarleton State to a second-place finish to earn All-LSC honors. Cameron's men, who finished fourth, were led by All-LSC performers Julius Korir, Josh Stewart and Mohamed Khelalfa, while East Central's Jim Sutrick and Texas A&M-Commerce's Tyler Tyndell also received recognition.

On the women's side, MSU's Sydnee Cole claimed the women's individual title to lead the Mustangs to the team crown. Brittney Heath and Emeline Crutcher paced Angelo State in second place to pick up All-LSC acclaim. ECU's Sarah Reihart and Hayley Jennings earned All-LSC honors as the Tigers finished third in the team standings. Also receiving recognition were Texas A&M-Kingsville's Erica Alvarado, WT's Bazaldua, ACU's Chloe Susset, TSU's Vanessa Elizondo and Southwestern Oklahoma's Chelsey Dillon.

Amos Sang, ACU Jr
Cleophas Tanui, ACU Sr
Julius Korir, Cameron So
Gerzain Valenzuela, Tarleton So
Colby Delbene, ACU Fr
Jim Sutrick, ECU Jr
Tyler Tyndell, TAMC Sr
Josh Stewart, Cameron Sr
Jared McNeil, Tarleton Jr
Mohamed Khelalfa, Cameron Jr

Sydnee Cole, MSU Jr
Erica Alvarado, TAMK Sr
Aries Bazaldua, WTAM Fr
Brittney Heath ASU, Sr
Sarah Reihart, ECU Sr
Chloe Susset, ACU Fr
Vanessa Elizondo, Tarleton So
Emeline Crutcher, ASU Fr
Hayley Jennings, ECU Fr
Chelsey Dillon, SWO Fr

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico