Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Media Day - Volleyball

WTAM picked for volleyball title
From the LSC Office

West Texas A&M is the favorite to claim the Lone Star Conference championship, according to the 2010 LSC preseason volleyball poll announced Tuesday.
   The league's preseason polls reflect the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.
   The 2010 volleyball season begins in late August, with 15 teams set to compete in the league with the addition of Incarnate Word. LSC teams will use a one-conference, single round-robin scheduling model in 2010, in which each team will play one match against each of the other teams.
   The LSC regular season title will be determined by conference matches with the champion and runner-up receiving trophies, while the postseason tournament will use an eight-team bracket, taking the top eight teams in the final conference standings. The tournament will be played Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Nov. 11-13, using the NCAA regional format and be hosted by the No. 1 seed.
   The Lady Buffs captured their fourth straight and 15th overall league title, along with the South Central Regional title and finished as national runners-up in 2009. WTAMU was 39-4 overall and undefeated in conference play for the fourth straight year with a 13-0 mark.
   WTAMU earned first-place votes on 27 of the 40 ballots for a total of 584 points. Abilene Christian collected the remaining 13 first place nods to finish second with 567 points.
   Angelo State was third with 487 total points, Central Oklahoma fourth (424), Texas A&M-Commerce fifth (343), Incarnate Word sixth (342), Midwestern State seventh (336) and Texas Woman’s (321) eighth.
   Southeastern Oklahoma (320), Texas A&M-Kingsville (295), Cameron (242), Tarleton State (221), East Central (145), Southwestern Oklahoma (99) and Eastern New Mexico (74) rounded out the poll.

LSC Volleyball                           1st       TOTAL
1.         West Texas A&M                27        584
2.         Abilene Christian               13        567
3.         Angelo State                                    487
4.         Central Oklahoma                          424
5.         Texas A&M-Commerce                 343
6.         Incarnate Word                               342
7.         Midwestern State                           336
8.         Texas Woman's                             321
9.         Southeastern Oklahoma              320
10.     Texas A&M-Kingsville                     295
11.     Cameron                                           242
12.     Tarleton State                                   221
13.     East Central                                     145
14.     Southwestern Oklahoma               99
15.     Eastern New Mexico                       74

Three Lone Star Conference volleyball stars were honored Tuesday as league officials announced the 2010 Preseason Players of the Year.
   Abilene Christian claimed two of the honors as Shawna Hines was named Defensive Player of the Year and Ijoema Moronu received Setter of the Year recognition. Central Oklahoma’s Zuela Adom picked up Defensive Player of the Year acclaim.
   The league’s preseason awards were selected by a vote of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.
   Adom, a senior outside hitter from Euless, Texas, was the top choice for offensive honors, earning 11 of 33 votes to top Angelo State’s Chelsea Gibson (five). A second-team Daktronics All-South Central Region and first-team All-LSC selection, she hit a solid .235 with 361 kills (2.98/set) last season while adding 76 blocks, 196 digs and 19 service aces.
   Hines was the top choice for defensive acclaim, collecting 17 of the 33 votes to finish ahead of Midwestern State’s Kiara Jordan (six).
   A senior from Aurora, Calif., Hines was voted third team NCAA Division II all-America by the nation's sports information directors and honorable mention all-America by the American Volleyball Coaches' Association.  Hines led the nation in total blocks (190) and blocks per set (1.58) while pacing the Wildcats to a 29-6 record in 2009.  She was also voted first-team all-LSC and the LSC's Defensive Player of the Year, and named to the LSC Championship all-tournament team.
   Moronu was the nearly unanimous pick for Setter of the Year with 32 votes. Incarnate Word’s Sarah Nordman received the remaining vote.
   The Fort Worth, Texas, native was a first-team all-LSC pick with over 1,000 assists for the second straight season in 2009 moving her into third place on the ACU All-Time list. She was named LSC Setter of the Week five times including the last week of the season, helping the Wildcats to a 14-game winning streak to end the season.
   These talented players will lead their teams into the 2010 season which begins September 2. The LSC has 15 teams set to compete utilizing a one-conference, single round-robin scheduling model, in which each team will play one match against each of the other teams.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico