Wednesday, December 15, 2010

AFCA All American Team Announced

Silatolu becomes MSU's first AFCA Divison II Coaches' All American - MSU Sports Information
Baptiste All-American Again - TAMK Sports Information
Gates Named All-America - ACU Sports Information
Robinson Snares All-America Honor - NSU Sports Information

West Liberty tight end Ryan Travis and Morehouse defensive lineman Derrin Nettles headline the 2010 AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America Team announced today by the American Football Coaches Association.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best — the coaches themselves.

Travis led the nation in receiving yards per game (140.2) and was No. 4 in the nation in total receiving yards (1,402). He scored 15 touchdowns and averaged 11.1 yards per catch. Nettles was No. 2 in the nation in tackles for loss (27.5). He also recorded 59 total tackles, 37 of which were solo, with nine sacks, 12 quarterback hurries and seven forced fumbles.

2010 AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America Team
Pos.NameHt.Wt.Cl.SchoolCoachHometown (High School)
WREdmund Gates6-1200Sr.Abilene ChristianChris ThomsenVernon, Texas (Vernon)
WRFred Williams6-0195Sr.St. Cloud StateScott UnderwoodMilwaukee, Wis. (South Division)
TERyan Travis6-3235Sr.West LibertyRoger WaialaeMassillon, Ohio (Tuslaw)
OLCameron Bradfield6-5295Sr.Grand Valley St.Matt MitchellGrand Rapids, Mich. (Creston)
OLAmini Silatolu6-3320Jr.Midwestern St.Bill MaskillTracy, Calif. (West)
OLBrandon Fusco6-5305Sr.Slippery RockGeorge MihalikCranberry Township, Pa. (Seneca Valley)
OLChandler Rearden6-1265Jr.Lenoir-RhyneFred GoldsmithGreenwood, S.C. (Greenwood)
OLTaylor Boggs6-3303Sr.Humboldt St.Rob SmithUpland, Calif. (Upland)
QBEric Czerniewski6-0190Sr.Central MissouriJim SvobodaMontgomery City, Mo. (Montgomery County)
RBPhil Milbrath5-9200Sr.Michigan TechTom KearlyNorway, Mich. (Norway)
RBJonas Randolph*5-10185Jr.Mars HillTim CliftonDaleville, Ala. (Daleville)


Pos.NameHt.Wt.Cl.SchoolCoachHometown (High School)
DLBrandon Williams6-3325So.Missouri Southern St.Bart TatumKirkwood, Mo. (Rockwood Summit)
DLMarc Schiechl*6-3260Sr.Colorado MinesBob StittLakewood, Colo. (Bear Creek)
DLDaniel Webb6-1260Sr.Emporia St.Garin HigginsFt. Collins, Colo. (Rocky Mountain)
DLDerrin Nettles6-4305Sr.MorehouseRich FreemanMontgomery, Ala. (Sidney Lanier)
LBTressor Baptiste6-0240Sr.Texas A&M-KingsvilleBo AtterberryNew York, N.Y. (Curtis)
LBLarry Dean6-0216Sr.Valdosta St.David DeanTifton, Ga. (Tift County)
LBAdam Bighill5-10222Sr.Central WashingtonBlaine BennettMontesano, Wash. (Montesano)
DBCraig Ray6-1206Sr.IndianapolisBob BartolomeoPlainfield, Ind. (Plainfield)
DBRyan Jones5-11195Sr.Northwest Missouri St.Mel TjeerdsmaLiberty, Mo. (Liberty)
DBNate Robinson5-9158Jr.Northeastern St. (Okla.)Kenny EvansRockingham, N.C. (Richmond Senior)
DBCaleb Singleton6-4215Sr.Western OregonArne FergusonSalem, Ore. (West Salem)


Pos.NameHt.Wt.Cl.SchoolCoachHometown (High School)
PRonnie Partridge5-10183Jr.StillmanL.C. ColeRidge Spring, S.C. (Ridge Spring-Monetta)
PKSteve Ivanisevic5-11195Sr.WashburnCraig SchurigDarien, Ill. (Hindsale South)
APStephan Neville5-8168Jr.StonehillRobert TalleyFoxborough, Mass. (Foxborough)

*-2009 AFCA All-American

Team Background: The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — FBS and FCS. In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III respectively. In 2006, the AFCA started selecting an NAIA-only team.  From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.

Selection Process: The AFCA’s Division II All-America Selection Committee is made up of three head coaches from each of the AFCA’s nine districts, one of whom serves as a district chairman, along with another head coach who serves as the chairman of the selection committee. The coaches in each district are responsible for ranking the top players in their respective districts prior to a conference call between the district chairmen and the committee chairman on which the team is chosen.

Top Teams: Texas A&M-Kingsville has been represented a total of 33 times by 29 players on the AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America Team. Trailing Texas A&M-Kingsville is Indiana (Pa.) (18/16), Pittsburg State (17/14), Northwest Missouri State (16/12), Grand Valley State (15/14), North Alabama (15/14), Abilene Christian (14/13), American International (14/13), Carson-Newman (14/13), Ferris State (14/12) and Texas A&M-Commerce (14/12).

Consecutive Years: Texas A&M-Kingsville had at least one player named to the AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America Team for 18 straight seasons, from 1986 to 2003, the longest streak by any team in Division II. Northwest Missouri State has the longest current streak with a player selected to the AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America Team at 15 straight seasons, from 1996 to present.

Repeat After Me: Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Johnny Bailey is the only player to earn Coaches’ All-America honors in four consecutive years at any level. Bailey was a four-year pick at runningback in 1986-87-88-89.

One Player, Two Schools: Punter Mark Bounds is the only player to earn Coaches’ All-America honors at two different schools. He was named to the AFCA College Division I team in 1990 while playing for West Texas A&M. He transferred to Texas Tech after West Texas dropped football and earned I-A All-America honors as a Red Raider in 1991.

Class Distinction: This year’s Division II Coaches’ All-America Team is made up of 18 seniors, six juniors and one sophomore.

First Time Schools: Amini Silatolu of Midwestern State, Ronnie Partridge of Stillman, Stephan Neville of Stonehill and Ryan Travis of West Liberty have all earned AFCA Coaches’ All-America Team honors for the first time for their schools this year.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico