Wednesday, May 18, 2011

LSC announces Track & Field awards

Abilene Christian topped the All-Lone Star Conference awards with 16 of the 53 athletes on the list for their performances at the 2011 LSC Men’s and Women’s Track & Field Championships. The awards were announced Wednesday by league officials.
Abilene Christian won the men’s championship for the 18th consecutive year at the 2011 LSC meet with 10 all-conference athletes. Angelo State won the women’s crown for their third straight and fifth conference title behind the efforts of seven all-conference performers.

The list of all-conference performers includes the winner of each event at the conference meet, including all members of the winning relay teams, plus any athlete who scores at least 14 points at the meet. In all, 28 men and 25 women were recognized by the all-conference program

In addition to the announcement of All-LSC performers, the league recognized four student-athletes and two coaches with individual awards.

On the men’s side, ACU’s Desmond Jackson earned the Cap Shelton Award as Outstanding Male Track Athlete, while the Wildcats Ramon Sparks picked up the Oscar Strahan Award as Outstanding Male Field Athlete. Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Ryan Dall was named Men’s Track Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year.

For the women, Incarnate Word’s Elodie Barre’ claimed both the Wes Kittley Award as Outstanding Female Track Athlete and the David Noble Award as Outstanding Female Field Athlete. ASU’s James Reid earned Women’s Track Coach of the Year honors for the fifth straight year.

The special awards were voted upon by the league coaches.

Many of the LSC track and field athletes are now preparing for the conclusion of the 2011 outdoor season with the NCAA Division II Men’s and Women’s Track & Field Championships, set for May 26-28 in Turlock, Calif.


NOTE: To earn all-conference status, athletes must score at least 14 points or win an event at the LSC Championships.

Outstanding Male Track Athlete (Cap Shelton Award): Desmond Jackson, Abilene Christian

Outstanding Male Field Athlete (Oscar Strahan Award): Ramon Sparks, Abilene Christian

Men’s Track & Field Coach of the Year: Ryan Dall, Texas A&M-Kingsville

Outstanding Female Track Athlete (Wes Kittley Award): Elodie Barre', Incarnate Word

Outstanding Female Field Athletes (David Noble Award): Elodie Barre', Incarnate Word

Women’s Track & Field Coach of the Year: James Reid, Angelo State

Athlete  School  Year Points
Desmond Jackson Abilene Christian Sr. 22.5
Nick Jones Abilene Christian Jr. 20
Ramon Sparks Abilene Christian Sr. 20
Amos Sang Abilene Christian Sr. 20
Tim Price Texas A&M-Kingsville Fr. 18
Raymond Orlando Angelo State Sr. 18
Bill Squire Eastern New Mexico Jr. 17
Westin Williams West Texas A&M Fr. 17
Trevor Rogers Angelo State Jr. 16
Kiya Dandena Texas A&M-Kingsville Jr. 16
Jonathan Woodson Texas A&M-Kingsville So. 15.5
Kevin Johnson Abilene Christian Jr. 15
Jordan Geary Abilene Christian So. 15
Parker Petty Abilene Christian So. 14
Wade Goode Angelo State Sr. 14
Mohamed Noor Eastern New Mexico Jr. 14
Paris Robertson Abilene Christian Jr. 13.5
Lavance Williams Abilene Christian Jr. 13
Tyler Fleet Abilene Christian Jr. 13
Isidro Garcia Angelo State So. 12
Brian Holik Angelo State Sr. 12
Cody Hughes Texas A&M-Commerce Jr. 11
Gage Mayer West Texas A&M Jr. 11
Sergio Rios Texas A&M-Kingsville So. 10.5
Anthony Washington Texas A&M-Kingsville So. 10.5
Andrew Allison Angelo State Sr. 10
Luke Irwin West Texas A&M Fr. 10
Norman Thompson Texas A&M-Kingsville Jr. 4.5
Athlete  School  Year Points
Elodie Barre' Incarnate Word Fr. 37
Chloe Susset Abilene Christian Jr. 24
Paige Newby Abilene Christian Sr. 24
Cathryn Rittenberry Angelo State Jr. 22
Emeline Crutcher Angelo State So. 22
Alyse Goldsmith Abilene Christian So. 20
Cassie Brooks Abilene Christian So. 18.75
Samantha Alvarez Texas A&M-Kingsville So. 18
Tiffany Wilcox Angelo State Fr. 17
Derekia Coleman Tarleton State Fr. 17
Alina Istrate Central Oklahoma Sr. 16
Shaneve Swift Incarnate Word Fr. 16
Jadiah Riley West Texas A&M Sr. 16
Amanda Ouedraogo Abilene Christian So. 15
Andrea Edwards Angelo State Jr. 15
Theresa Sue Angelo State So. 15
Lacey Rhodes Central Oklahoma Fr. 14.5
Elvira Gonzalez Incarnate Word Fr. 13.5
Jessica Sloss Abilene Christian Sr. 13
Bree Bennett Angelo State So. 12
Kelsey Wilson Angelo State Jr. 10
Payton Shoush Tarleton State Fr. 10
Vanecia Spencer Incarnate Word Fr. 5.5
Lindsay Isaacson Incarnate Word Fr. 2.5
Stacy Stanush Incarnate Word So. 2.5

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico