Monday, May 9, 2011

LSC Roundup 5-9

LSC Track & Field Championships: ASU, ACU claim titles - LSC Office
Final Results

The Angelo State women claimed its third straight and fifth conference title in eight years, while Abilene Christian captured its 18th consecutive men’s championship at the 2011 Lone Star Conference Track & Field Championships, held at Oscar Frazier Track at Memorial Stadium in Stephenville, Texas.

The Rambelles ended the meet with 197 points, while ACU finished in second with 168.50 points, West Texas A&M was third at 96 and Incarnate Word fourth 94.50.

Tarleton State ended in fifth place with 75 points, Central Oklahoma sixth 56, Texas A&M-Commerce seventh 54, Texas A&M-Kingsville eighth 47 and Eastern New Mexico was ninth with 26.

On the men’s side, the Wildcats won with 223 points to 166.50 for the runner-up ASU.

Kingsville finished third with 106 points, ENMU was fourth 83, WTAMU fifth 79.50, Tarleton sixth 65, A&M-C seventh 60 and UIW seventh with 33.

Men - Team Rankings
1) Abilene Christian 223
2) Angelo State 166.50
3) Texas A&M-Kingsville 106
4) Eastern New Mexico 83
5) West Texas A&M 79.50
6) Tarleton State 65
7) Texas A&M -Commerce 60
8) Incarnate Word 33

Women - Team Rankings
1) Angelo State 197
2) Abilene Christian 168.50
3) West Texas A&M 96
4) Incarnate Word 94.50
5) Tarleton State 75
6) Central Oklahoma 56
7) Texas A&M-Commerce 54
8) Texas A&M-Kingsville 47
9) Eastern New Mexico 26

ACU men's run continues at LSC track championships - Joey Richards, Abilene Reporter News
The only thing that has stopped the Abilene Christian University men from winning a Lone Star Conference track and field title every year since 1992 is Mother Nature. The meet was rained out in 1995.

But there was no rain this weekend, and once again the Wildcats reigned supreme.

The ACU men cruised to their 18th consecutive LSC title Sunday at Tarleton State University's Memorial Stadium. The Wildcats, who have won 26 of the last 32 meets overall, scored 223 points. Angelo State was second with 166½ points.

"A great job," ACU coach Roosevelt Lofton said. "We came in with the attitude that we had to put up a lot of points to win, and they stepped up and did it."

ASU TRACK: Rambelles race to record - San Angelo Standard Times
For the first time in school history, the Angelo State University women's track and field team has won three straight conference championships.

The Rambelles took the team lead from Abilene Christian midway through Sunday's running events and cruised to a 28.5-point victory over the Wildcats, 197-168.5.

The ASU men finished second to Abilene Christian for the third straight year and 11th time in the last 12 years. The Wildcats scored 223 points to the Rams' 166.5.

Five women and four men brought home individual conference championships.


Softball Championship: WTAMU wins first-ever title - LSC Office
West Texas A&M defeated East Central twice to win the program’s first LSC Softball Championship on Saturday at the Durant Multi-Sports Complex in Durant, Okla.

WTAMU won the first championship contest 5-3 to force the if-necessary game. In the winner-take-all game, the Lady Buffs scored in each of the first four frames and added five in the sixth to prevail 12-2 (6 innings) and earn the title.

The Lady Buffs (45-15) earned the league’s automatic qualification into the South Central Regional, which will be played in two four-team, double elimination tournaments at campus sites during the weekend of May 13-15. The field will be announced at 9 a.m. Monday, May 9, via a webcast selection show on

Meghan Slattery led the WT offense in the decisive game with a 4-for-4 effort including a three-run home run and six RBI’s. Shelbey Cockrell started the game and earned the win en route to being named the All-Tournament Most Valuable Player.

2011 LSC Softball Championship All-Tournament Team

1B –Alyson Reynolds, MSU
2B – Kaitlyn Witte, WT
3B – Mallory Mooney, MSU
SS – Alyssa Lemos, WT
C - Meghan Brown, WT
OF - Kim LeComte, WT
OF - Cassandra Nordie, ECU
OF - Meghan Slattery, WT
OF - Morgan Spearman, ASU
P - Wanda Malone, ECU
P - Marci Womack, WT
P - Kristina Gutierrez, MSU
UT - Cami Correa, ECU
MVP – Shelbey Cockrell, WT

Lady Buffs claim LSC tourney title - Terrence Hunley, Amarillo Globe News
For the first time in the program's brief history, the No. 17 West Texas A&M softball team is the Lone Star Conference Tournament champion.

The Lady Buffs (44-15) topped East Central, 5-3 and 12-2, Saturday at Durant, Okla.

Having lost to East Central in the semifinals Friday, WT needed back-to-back wins to capture the championship.

"It shows the resolve of our team," WT coach Kevin Blaskowski said. "It kind of shows that we have the ability to come back. We came out and had a great focus today. We outplayed East Central all day. I just think that we realized we didn't play well in the loss, and we played like champions today."


LSC Baseball Championship Central
LSC Baseball Championship: SWOSU, UIW, CU claim wins
LSC Baseball Championship: UIW, SE and CU prevail on day one

Today's Schedule
UIW (2-0) vs. Cameron (2-0) - 11:00 AM
SWO (1-1) vs. SOSU (1-1) - 3:00 PM (elimination game)
UIW/CU loser vs. SWO/SOSU winner - 7:00 PM (elimination game)

Baseball roundup: De La Rosa powers UIW - San Antonio Express News

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico