Friday, May 6, 2011

Track & Field: LSC announces academic awards

Eastern New Mexico’s Bill Squire and Angelo State’s Cathryn Rittenberry were named Lone Star Conference Academic Athletes of the Year on Wednesday when league officials announced the LSC’s annual academic awards for men’s and women’s track and field.

Squire was joined by 11 other track and field standouts on the LSC Men’s All-Academic Team, while Rittenberry led a group of 12 stars on the LSC Women’s All-Academic Team.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.30 grade point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Player of Year award and All-Academic Team are selected from the list of academically qualified players, with the league’s sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement.

On the men’s team with Squire were Angelo State’s Brian Holik, Wade Goode and Clint Bippert, Texas A&M-Commerce’s Robert Reed and Brandon Womack, along with Incarnate Word’s Howard Gill, Sebastien Jaraba-Heffner, George Alicea, Christian Alicea, Corey McDonnough and Richard Borchardt.

Joining Rittenberry on the Women’s All-Academic Team was fellow Rambelle Summer Sutherland, West Texas A&M’s Tara Tarrant, Katie Jones, Bailee Skeen and Jadiah Riley, Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Katie Dugie and Samantha Alvarez, Tarleton State’s Elizabeth Dominguez, UIW’s Stephanie Glatt and Stacy Stanusch and ENMU’s Nicole Reid.

Overall, 24 men and women were selected to the All-Academic teams.

Complete List

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico