Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Fred Jacoby Academic Athletes of the Year announced

RICHARDSON, Texas – Incarnate Word baseball star Kirk Jewasko and West Texas A&M volleyball standout Lauren Thedford were selected as the 2011 Lone Star Conference Fred Jacoby Academic Athletes of the Year. The awards were announced Wednesday following a vote of the league’s sports information directors.
UIW’s Jewasko and WTAMU’s Thedford are only the fourth recipients of the award bearing the name of Jacoby, the long-time LSC commissioner who passed away in March 2008. The nominees included the Academic Player of the Year in each sport as selected during the year.
Jewasko received the most votes for LSC top male academic athlete followed by Eastern New Mexico track & field standout Bill Squire and Midwestern State football star Zack Eskridge.
Thedford earned the female academic athlete acclaim in front of Tarleton State golf standout Carla Cooper, Angelo State softball star Alix Dean and Abilene Christian soccer standout Anastasia Nelson.
Jewasko, a junior from San Antonio, maintains a 3.83 grade point average while majoring in business administration. He led the LSC and Cardinals with a 12-1 overall record and 103 strikeouts. Jewasko threw 91.1 innings with five complete games and a 3.31 ERA to earn the league Pitcher of the Year and first-team all-LSC honors.
A senior political science major from Carrollton, Texas, with a flawless 4.0 GPA, Thedford claimed first-team all-LSC and Daktronics All-South Central Region honors. She posted team-highs in kills (373), digs (513) and points (438.5) on the year, while leading the Lady Buffs to their fifth consecutive LSC regular season and championship titles.

LSC MALE ACADEMIC ATHLETE OF YEAR (Sport, Name, School, Points): Baseball, Kirk Jewasko, Incarnate Word, 21; Track & Field, Bill Squire, Eastern New Mexico, 17; Football, Zack Eskridge, Midwestern State, 13; Football, Karlton Graves, Eastern New Mexico, 8; Cross Country, Daniel Kiptoo, East Central, 7; Basketball, Tyler Phillips, Central Oklahoma, 7; Tennis, Vjekoslav Stipanic, Midwestern State, 7; Soccer, Edgar Bear, Eastern New Mexico, 5; Golf, Tyler Sheppard, Abilene Christian, 5.

LSC FEMALE ACADEMIC ATHLETE OF YEAR (Sport, Name, School, Points): Volleyball, Lauren Thedford, West Texas A&M, 23; Golf, Carla Cooper, Tarleton State, 21; Softball, Alix Dean, Angelo State, 19; Soccer, Anastasia Nelson, Abilene Christian, 12; Softball, Carrie Harvey, Cameron, 7; Basketball, Shelby Adamson, Tarleton State, 6; Track & Field, Cathryn Rittenberry, Angelo State, 5; Tennis, Michaela Romanova, Northeastern State, 2; Basketball, Josie Stewart, Cameron, 1; Cross Country, Jessica Blakely, West Texas A&M, 0.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico