Friday, June 24, 2011

LSC Roundup 6-24

LSC Commissioner's Honor Roll Announced
A total of 1,027 student-athletes were named to the Lone Star Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll for the 2010-11 academic year league officials announced Thursday.

This year’s release marks a new beginning for the Commissioner’s Honor Roll program. Previously, the honorees qualified by cumulative grade point average and were announced by sport at the end of each respective season, but this year’s version is being announced after the conclusion of the spring academic term and student-athletes must qualify based on GPA solely for the current academic year. As such, this year’s listing truly reflects those student-athletes most deserving of recognition for academic achievement during the 2010-11 academic year.

Incarnate Word placed the highest number of student-athletes on the honor roll with 123 members. Abilene Christian was second with 108, while West Texas A&M ranked third with 83 honorees.

The final tally included 122 students with a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the year. ACU topped the list of flawless marks, producing 20 individuals, while WT had 15, Tarleton State 13, along with Angelo State and Southeastern Oklahoma with 11 each. The sport of football had the most 4.0’s with 19, followed by Women’s Soccer (16), Softball (13) and Men’s Track & Field (11).

To be eligible for the Commissioner’s Honor Roll, student-athletes must have a minimum 3.30 GPA for the current academic year and be active on the roster.

Complete List

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico