Tuesday, June 7, 2011

LSC Roundup 6-7

2010-11 LSC Scholar-Athletes announced - LSC Office
The annual Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athlete Award winners for 2010-11 were announced on Monday, with 31 student-athletes honored by league officials.

Each academic year, the LSC presents a Scholar-Athlete Award to one male and one female student-athlete at each member institution. These student-athletes are selected as representatives of the outstanding accomplishments in athletics, scholarship and leadership that are displayed on each LSC campus during the year.

To be eligible for consideration, student-athletes must have participated at least two years in their sport and must have exhausted their athletic eligibility.

Besides representing each of the league’s 16 member institutions, this year’s recipients represent all 16 of the sports that are sponsored by the conference.

Volleyball had the most Scholar-Athletes with seven, while football, golf and soccer had four selections each.

The 2010-11 Scholar-Athletes led their respective teams to three conference championships, three LSC divisional titles and one regular season crown.

Texas is home for 16 of the recipients, with five from Oklahoma and one each from six other states – Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, Kansas, Arkansas and Missouri - along with Chile, Montenegro, Serbia and Poland.

Link to this year’s LSC Scholar-Athlete Award honorees

Dean and Holik Tabbed LSC Scholar-Athlete Award Winners - ASU Sports
Beckley, Charlson Claim LSC Honor - UCO Sports
Graves and Tydings Selected as LSC Scholar Athletes - ENMU Sports
Stipanic, Damjanovic tabbed LSC Scholar-Athletes - MSU Sports
Glover and Waclawczyk Named LSC Scholar-Athletes - TAMK Sports

Carpenter wins Nicklaus Award  - ACU Golf
Wilson Adds Johnson and Williford for Upcoming Season - ENMU Women's Basketball
Midwestern State announces addition of women's track & field - MSU Track

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico