Friday, February 17, 2012

ASU Athletic Director to Retire

Courtesy ASU Athletic Communications

SAN ANGELO, Texas – Angelo State University Athletic Director Kathleen Brasfield, under whose leadership ASU women's athletics expanded and earned the university's first two NCAA Division II national championships, has announced her retirement, effective May 31.

During her 33-year Angelo State career, Brasfield became an influential voice nationally in NCAA D-II athletics, serving in 2010 as chair of the Division II Management Council and in 2011 receiving the Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year Award for Division II's West Region.

In announcing her decision to retire, Brasfield said, “I've enjoyed my tenure at ASU immensely.  I'm proud of the student-athletes who have participated in our programs for their accomplishments competitively, academically and after graduation.  I am fortunate to have worked for three presidents who believed in the value of intercollegiate athletics to the institution and who supported our commitment to student-athletes. 

“I appreciate,” Brasfield continued, “the San Angelo community's support of ASU and ASU Athletics and thank the faculty and staff for their support of our student-athletes and coaches.  I'm looking forward to new opportunities and challenges and am confident that the Rams and 'Belles will continue to excel.”

ASU President Joseph C. Rallo said, “Both as a coach and as an administrator, Kathleen has made innumerable contributions to Angelo State University athletics.  Her commitment to meeting both the spirit and the letter of the law in addressing Title IX issues will serve our women athletes for decades to come.”

“Additionally, she has run our program with integrity and never lost sight of the fact that our goal was not just to produce winners on the field, but also winners in the classroom and in life,” Rallo said. 

Hired in 1978 as ASU's head volleyball coach, Brasfield devoted the majority of her professional career to the university, taking over the post of women's athletic director in 1982 and overall athletic director in 2004.  Prior to the 2005 season, she retired as one of the winningest volleyball coaches in D-II history to focus on her responsibilities as athletic director.

In that capacity, Brasfield has seen ASU programs grow to 13 intercollegiate sports, the most recent additions being softball in 2002, baseball in 2005, women's golf in 2009 and indoor track and field in 2010.

Her administrative accomplishments include establishing the first university endowment solely for Angelo State athletics, thanks to the support of Dr. Robert and Jean Ann LeGrand.  The endowment provided for a new scoreboard at the subsequently renamed LeGrand Sports Complex, formerly known as the ASU Multipurpose Sports Complex, and for improvements to the track facility prior to the NCAA D-II National Championships in 2009 when ASU hosted the meet for the fifth time in school history.

Also active on the national scene, Brasfield has been a member of the NCAA D-II Management Council for four years, serving as chair in 2010.  She previously served several stints on the NCAA D-II Volleyball Regional Advisory Committee and spent four seasons on the NCAA D-II Volleyball National Advisory Committee, acting as national chair in 2004.  She has been equally active in the Lone Star Conference, serving on multiple committees with the LSC.

In her 26 years as ASU head volleyball coach, Brasfield led the Rambelles to 647 wins.  She was named the LSC Coach of the Year a league-record eight times and retired as one of the top five winningest active coaches in NCAA D-II.  She also led the Rambelles to seven league titles, including four consecutive LSC crowns from 1982-85.

Other honors and awards for Brasfield include being named a member of the LSC's All-75 Year Team in 2007 as a volleyball coach and earning the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport Pathfinder Award for her contributions to the achievement of women in sports.

A native of Abilene, Brasfield received her bachelor's degree from Hardin-Simmons University in 1969 and her master's degree from ASU in 1980. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico