Friday, April 27, 2012

Softball: Postseason awards announced

The Lone Star Conference recognized its softball standouts Thursday as the postseason awards were announce by league officials at the championship banquet.
LSC champion Angelo State had a league-high eight players receive All-LSC honors including four first-teamers.
Overall 40 student-athletes were honored by the all-conference program, with at least one player from nine of the ten LSC teams.  The awards are voted upon by the league coaches, who determined a 16-player first team by position, and second and third teams, each consisting of 12 players regardless of positions.
ASU, which won the conference title for the sixth time with a 23-4 record, was represented on the All-LSC first team by pitcher Claire Molina, catcher Kacie Easley, second baseman DeeshanaLynn Tafiti and third baseman Elsamartina Apo.
The Rambelles took home several special awards to boot. Apo was tabbed Player of the Year, Molina named Pitcher of the Year, April Breshears shared Newcomer of the Year, and Travis Scott claimed Coach of the Year honors.
West Texas A&M’s Allie Cranfill earned Freshman of the Year, while Abilene Christian’s Courtney Flanary was the co-Newcomer of the Year.
ACU had seven players named to the all-conference team, while Midwestern State and Texas Woman’s had six each. WTAMU had five players distinguished, Tarleton three with all first-teamers, Cameron and Incarnate Word two and Texas A&M-Kingsville one.
(Complete Teams)

SCHEDULE (single-elimination tournament)  
Friday, April 27 (Higher seed will be the home team) 
11:30 a.m. #3 Tarleton State vs. #6 Midwestern State
2:00 p.m. #2 Texas Woman’s vs. #7 Incarnate Word
4:30 p.m. #4 West Texas A&M vs. #5 Abilene Christian
7:00 p.m. #1 Angelo State vs. #8 Cameron

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico