Wednesday, May 9, 2012

LSC Roundup 5-9

Tarleton defeats ASU to force if-necessary game

Tarleton State starter Pete Perez stymied Angelo State in leading the Texans to a 2-0 win in 11 innings in the Lone Star Conference Baseball Championship game here Tuesday to force an if-necessary contest.  The Rams entered the game boasting an undefeated 3-0 tournament record along with a 39-6 advantage in runs scored including a 16-0 triumph over Tarleton Monday.
Perez allowed only three hits with seven strikeouts in nine shutout innings as Tarleton and ASU ended regulation with a scoreless tie.  The Texans halted the 0-0 standoff in the 11th inning, as Ty Crump was hit by a pitch and Evan Robinson walked, which brought Ryan Small to the plate. The second baseman singled through the left side to put Tarleton ahead. With two outs, the Texans added an insurance run courtesy of a Garrett Hardey single, which plated Small.

Britt Robertshaw, who relieved Perez, took down the Rams in order with a ground out, strike out and fly out to end the game and pick up the win (3-2) for the Texans.  ASU starter Rick Reyna was equally impressive in the pitcher’s duel, with a four-hit shutout and three K’s through the first seven innings. In relief, Austin Church threw three innings, allowing one hit with three strikeouts. The Rams Michael Weatherly took the loss (5-3) permitting both runs before Jake Albert ended the frame.

Tarleton and ASU take the field Wednesday at Noon for a winner-take-all rematch, with the champion earning the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA South Central Regional.

ASU BASEBALL: Rams lose in 11, face Texans today for title- Mike Whitson, San Angelo Standard Times
LSC Baseball Championship: Tarleton advances to title game - LSC Office
LSC Baseball Championship: ACU remains in tournament with 14-3 win - LSC Office
Wildcats stay alive with 14-3 win over Incarnate Word - ACU

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico