Wednesday, May 2, 2012

LSC Scoop Afternoon Update 5-2

Breaking News from KRISTV.
BREAKING: A&M-Kingsville Athletic Director Ken Oliver has resigned to be a Vice President at Central Methodist University. He will remain with the Javelinas until June 15th.

The Lone Star Conference Track and Field Championships are set for a three-day run May 3-5 at Texas A&M-Commerce’s Memorial Stadium.  Abilene Christian is the reigning men’s champion with 18 straight titles, while Angelo State has won the last three championships on the women’s side.
The events start Thursday at 2 p.m. with the multi-events portion and conclude Saturday night with finals and team trophy presentations.

The Lone Star Conference has four men’s teams in the top 25 including three in the top-10 in the national team computer rankings (May 1) conducted by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) with No. 4 Abilene Christian, No. 7 Texas A&M-Kingsville, No. 10 Angelo State and No. 24 West Texas A&M. On the women’s side, the LSC is represented by No. 16 ACU and No. 18 ASU.
So far this season, LSC athletes have posted 13 NCAA Division II automatic qualifying marks with nine on the men’s side and four by the women.  Additionally, 124 provisional marks have been set with 63 by men and 61 by women.  The national championship is May 24-26 in Pueblo, Colo.
Isaiah Samoei, Eastern New Mexico University, JR, Eldoret, Kenya, Iowa Western CC

Samoei set a new Greyhound record in the 1,500m run, crossing the finish line at the West Texas A&M Open, with a time of 3:55.15. The performance topped the event and was his third first-place finish this season.

Daniel Draper, Eastern New Mexico University, SR, Moriarty, N.M., Moriarty HS

Draper tossed the javelin 210-5, to win the event at the West Texas A&M Open, last weekend. The throw was a season high for him and is the second farthest throw in the Lone Star Conference this spring. 

Chloe Susset, Abilene Christian University, JR, Clery Vexin, France, Lycee Camille Claudel

Susset became the fifth Wildcat this outdoor season to qualify for the NCAA DII Championships after recording a 3,000-meter steeplechase time of 10:24.65 Sunday night at Stanford’s Payton Jordan Invitational. Susset’s fifth-place time was a season best by more than 30 seconds and 10 seconds under the automatic qualifying standard of 10:35.00. She is the first Wildcat runner this spring to qualify for nationals, joining a group that already includes jumpers Amanda Ouedraogo and LeVance Williams, and throwers Nick Jones and Baptiste Kerjean. Susset recorded a NCAA provisional time of 10:56.80 in her most recent steeplechase appearance at UT-Arlington’s Bobby Lane Invitational, and at last week’s meet at Baylor, she clocked a time of 4:30.10 in the 1,500m, which currently is the 13th fastest in all of DII.

Amanda Ouedraogo, Abilene Christian University, JR, Hauts de Seine, France, Descartes HS

Ouedraogo, the nation’s leader in the triple jump, won the event over the weekend at the Penn Relays Carnival at historic Franklin Field. Ouedraogo posted a mark of 41 feet, 6.50 inches to top Kelcey McKinney of Ohio State (40-5) to win the triple jump championship at the Penn Relays.

LSC Track & Field All-Academic team announced
Incarnate Word’s Howard Gill and Angelo State’s Cathryn Rittenberry were named Lone Star Conference Academic Athletes of the Year on Wednesday when league officials announced the LSC’s annual academic awards for men’s and women’s track and field.
Gill led a group of 11 other track and field standouts on the LSC Men’s All-Academic Team, while Rittenberry, who earned her second straight Athlete of the Year honor, was joined by 11 stars on the LSC Women’s All-Academic Team.
To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.30 grade point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Player of Year award and All-Academic Team are selected from the list of academically qualified players, with the league’s sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement.
Joining Gill on the men’s all-academic team was fellow Cardinal Adan Narvaez, Abilene Christian’s Matthew Stark, Parker Petty and Erik Forrister, Texas A&M-Commerce’s Alex Kimp and Hank Smith, Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Dylan Riedesel, Angelo State’s Clinton Bippert and Ethan West and West Texas A&M’s Dane Hamrick.
Gill was a repeat selection, while Bippert was named to the all-academic team for the third straight year.
On the women’s team with Rittenberry were teammates Emeline Crutcher, Kelsey Coffman and Summer Sutherland, WTAMU’s Katie Jones and Tara Tarrant, Midwestern State’s Cara Mack, Tarleton State’s Kyndall Trnka, TAMUK’s Samantha Alvarez and UIW’s Shaneve Swift and Stephanie Glatt.
Jones, Tarrant, Glatt, Alvarez and Sutherland each earned a spot on the all-academic team for the second consecutive year.
Overall, 22 men and women were selected to the All-Academic teams.    

Player Team Yr. Major  Hometown
Howard Gill  Incarnate Word  Jr.  Biology  San Antonio, Texas  
Matthew Stark  Abilene Christian  Jr.  Accounting  Abilene, Texas  
Alex Kimp  Texas A&M-Commerce  So.  Undeclared  Keller, Texas 
Dylan Riedesel  Texas A&M-Kingsville  So.  Exercise Science  Victoria, Texas 
Parker Petty  Abilene Christian  Jr.  Information Technology  White Deer, Texas 
Clinton Bippert  Angelo State  Sr.  Animal Science  Castroville, Texas 
Erik Forrister  Abilene Christian  So.  Physics  Llano, Texas 
Dane Hamrick  West Texas A&M  Sr.  Sports & Exer. Sciences  Amarillo, Texas 
Adan Narvaez  Incarnate Word  Jr.  Rehabilitation Sciences  Corpus Christi, Texas  
Hank Smith  Texas A&M-Commerce  So.  Undeclared  Burleson, Texas 
Ethan West  Angelo State  Jr.  English/Secondary Cert.  San Angelo, Texas 
LSC Men’s Track & Field Academic Players of the Year: Howard Gill, Incarnate Word 
Player Team Yr. Major  Hometown
Cathryn Rittenberry  Angelo State  Grad.  Int. Prof. Accountancy  Carthage, Texas 
Katie Jones  West Texas A&M  Jr.  Sports & Exer. Sciences  Boys Ranch, Texas 
Emeline Crutcher  Angelo State  Sr.  Biochemistry  Wellman, Texas 
Cara Mack  Midwestern State  So.  Undecided  Llano, Texas 
Tara Tarrant  West Texas A&M  Jr.  Secondary Education  Amarillo, Texas 
Kelsey Coffman  Angelo State  Sr.  Nursing  Rocksprings, Texas 
Kyndall Trnka  Tarleton State  Jr.  Kinesiology  Caldwell, Texas  
Samantha Alvarez  Texas A&M-Kingsville  Jr.  Pre-Physical Therapy  Victoria, Texas 
Shaneve Swift  Incarnate Word  So.  Accounting  San Antonio, Texas  
Stephanie Glatt  Incarnate Word  Jr.  Nursing  San Antonio, Texas  
Summer Sutherland  Angelo State  Sr.  Nursing  Crane, Texas 
LSC Women’s Track & Field Academic Player of the Year: Cathryn Rittenberry, Angelo State

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico