Wednesday, May 9, 2012

LSC Scoop Afternoon Update 5-9

The Angelo State offense got back on track as the Rams blanked Tarleton State 6-0 to claim the 2012 Lone Star Conference Baseball Tournament Championship title and earn the league’s automatic qualification into the NCAA Division II Championship field.

 ASU (40-15) rebounded after being held scoreless in Tuesday’s initial title game, to win the tournament with a 4-1 mark including a 45-8 advantage in runs scored.   The Rams, who were the top seed as the LSC Champions by virtue of the best regular season record, scored five runs in the second inning to take control of the game. 

Brett Parsons started the frame with a base hit, before scoring on Doug Snover’s double to left field. Andrew LaCombe then singled through the right side to plate Lee Neumann, who reached on a fielder’s choice, and Snover. Tate Allison delivered the final two runs with his fifth home run of the season.  ASU added one more run in the third, when Snover singled to bring Neumann, who had reached on an error, home.  Michael Lange (9-0) earned the victory for the Rams, allowing three hits in five innings with three strikeouts. Michael Weatherly and Craig Blair also saw action in the combined shutout effort.
Tarleton (30-21) managed eight hits but left seven on base. Matt Buckmaster (6-2) took the loss for the Texans.
The all-tournament team included seven players from ASU and four from Tarleton.
2012 LSC All-Tournament Team
C - 
Jonathan Schmitz, Tarleton State
1B - Quaid McKinnon, Angelo State
2B - Travis Schuetze, Abilene Christian
3B - Toby Semler, Angelo State
SS - Zach Cohen, Angelo State
OF - Lee Neumann, Angelo State
OF - Ryan Greer, Angelo State
OF - Andrew Wolfe, Tarleton State
DH - Ryan Small, Tarleton State
P - Pete Perez, Tarleton State
P - Michael Lange, Angelo State
MVP - Quaid McKinnon, Angelo State

Texans' title hopes end with 6-0 loss in LSC Tournament Championship - TSU

NCAA Regional Rankings 5-9
  1. Central Missouri 41-7
  2. St. Mary's 41-8
  3. Angelo State 38-14
  4. Southern Arkansas 36-15
  5. Texas A&M-Kingsville 31-16
  6. St. Edward's 35-12
  7. Southeastern Oklahoma 34-17
  8. Missouri Western 33-15

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico