Thursday, May 3, 2012

LSC Track Meet updates

For those of you that don't follow us on twitter (where we are retweeting updates from the Track meet), we will periodically update here.  Thanks to Shane Meling, SID from TAMK for tweeting the updates.

Javelinas Post Good Numbers in Decathlon


COMMERCE, TEXAS – On the first day of the 2012 Lone Star Conference Track and Field Championships hosted by Texas A&M-Commerce there were a number of records broken in the multi-events. Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Matt Busker (Corpus Christi/Incarnate Word Academy HS) currently sits in fifth place after the first day of competition with 3,324 points.

Angelo State’s Seth Pearson set three LSC Championship Meet records on Thursday. He broke the decathlon records in the 100-meter dash with a time of 10.94, the long jump with a leap of 23-0 and first day score with 3,776 points.

The Javelinas had three men competing in the decathlon and each is well ahead of his own personal record pace. Busker set personal records in the 100 meters (11.39), shot put (36-9.5) and the 400 meters (51.02). He is currently 148 points ahead of his personal record pace in the decathlon.

Trevor Engel (Huntington Beach, CA/Edison HS) finished the day with 3,075 points and is well ahead of his personal record pace with still three of his best events still to come. He set personal records in the 100 meters (11.95) and high jump (5-8).

Freshman Nick O’Brien (Middletown, NY/Pine Bush HS) had his best day as a decathlete improving in four of five events from his first collegiate decathlon a month ago. He heads into the second day of competition with 2,832 points.

On Friday, the rest of the championship events will begin with a few final events and a majority of preliminary heats. The decathlon begins at 10:30 a.m. with the 110-meter hurdles while the women’s heptathlon begins at 11:00 a.m. with the long jump. Field events begin at 2:00 p.m. with the finals of the women’s hammer throw and track events will begin at 6:00 p.m. with the finals of the women’s 3,000-meter steeplechase.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico