Friday, May 11, 2012

LSC Roundup 5-11

Police search for Tarleton athletes accused of burglary - Amber Ward, Stephenville Empire Tribune

Tarleton police have obtained arrest warrants for two basketball players suspected of burglarizing an apartment in a series of Spring Break crimes.  The warrants seek the arrest of Shedrick Haynes, 24, and Zachary Hannibal Nelson, 22, in a burglary of a habitation case, a second-degree felony.  The burglary at Texan Village apartments was among seven cases reported to campus police between March 7-18.

Haynes and Nelson became suspects after a Neebo Bookstore employee identified the two men as the persons who sold books taken in one of the burglaries, police records show. Both athletes gave false names when selling the books, but had used their UIN numbers, allowing the crimes to be connected to their real names.

In another twist, records show that Tarleton Police Sergeant Darren Keith was called on April 3 into Athletic Director Lonn Reisman’s office to pick up items turned into Reisman by one of his athletes. Some of these items -- a Fuji camera, two SD cards and a black case -- were identified in a police report as being stolen in a burglary.

Detective Kristie Bint used this information to obtain the arrest warrants on April 16. The athletes have not been arrested. Texan News attempted to contact Haynes and Nelson at phone numbers listed in police reports. Haynes’ phone was answered by a man who said he didn’t know Haynes. Nelson’s number was disconnected.

This isn’t the first time these athletes have dealt with campus police. Haynes was arrested on March 28 for burglary of a habitation on July 30, 2011 when property was taken from a campus dorm, records show. He was released on a $10,000 bond the following day.

Records also show Nelson was arrested on March 19 for possession of marijuana and was released that day on a $500 bond. Sgt. Keith said police have been searching for the suspects since the warrants were obtained.
Fowler: Stephens was already a leader - Brad Keith, Stephenville Empire Tribune
Tarleon Football recruit dies in home- Brad Keith, Stephenville Empire Tribune

Junior Keanna Winkfield Named NFCA Second Team All-South Central Region - ACU Softball

Abilene Christian and Angelo State headlined the All-Lone Star Conference awards with 14 honorees each of the 54 athletes on the list for their efforts at the 2012 LSC Men’s and Women’s Track & Field Championships. The awards were announced Thursday by league officials.  ACU won the men’s championship for the 19th straight year at the 2012 LSC meet with seven all-conference athletes. ASU earned its fourth consecutive women’s title behind the efforts of six all-LSC performers.
The list of all-conference performers includes the winner of each event at the conference meet, including all members of the winning relay teams, plus any athlete who scores at least 14 points at the meet. In all, 27 men and 25 women were recognized by the all-conference program  In addition to the announcement of All-LSC performers, the league recognized four student-athletes and two coaches with individual awards.
On the men’s side, ACU’s Jordan Geary earned the Cap Shelton Award as Outstanding Male Track Athlete, while the Wildcats Nick Jones picked up the Oscar Strahan Award as Outstanding Male Field Athlete. ACU’s Roosevelt Lofton was named Men’s Track Coach of the Year.
For the women, the Wildcats Chloe Susset claimed the Wes Kittley Award as Outstanding Female Track Athlete, while West Texas A&M’s Morgan Shelton earned the David Noble Award as Outstanding Female Field Athlete. ASU’s James Reid was tabbed Women’s Track Coach of the Year for the sixth straight year.

Outstanding Male Track Athlete (Cap Shelton Award): Jordan Geary, Abilene Christian
Outstanding Male Field Athlete (Oscar Strahan Award): Nick Jones, Abilene Christian
Men’s Track & Field Coach of the Year: Roosevelt Lofton, Abilene Christian
Outstanding Female Track Athlete (Wes Kittley Award): Chloe Susset, Abilene Christian
Outstanding Female Field Athletes (David Noble Award): Morgan Shelton, West Texas A&M
Women’s Track & Field Coach of the Year: James Reid, Angelo State

NOTE: To earn all-conference status, athletes must score at least 14 points or win an event at the LSC Championships.

Athlete  School  Year Points
Nick Jones Abilene Christian Sr. 29
Isaiah Samoei Eastern New Mexico Fr. 28
Dylan Doss West Texas A&M Fr. 26
Jordan Geary Abilene Christian Jr. 22
Levance Williams Abilene Christian Sr. 21
Jacob McDonald Angelo State Sr. 20
Parker Petty Abilene Christian Jr. 19
Jonathan Woodson Texas A&M-Kingsville Jr. 19
Tallam Kipruto Eastern New Mexico Fr. 18
Dennis Bain Abilene Christian Jr. 18
CJ Griggs Texas A&M-Kingsville So. 16.5
Tim Price Texas A&M-Kingsville So. 16.5
Andrew Wells Texas A&M-Kingsville Fr. 16
Tommy Curry West Texas A&M Jr. 16
Bryan Barker Angelo State Fr. 15
Paris Robertson Abilene Christian Sr. 15
Patrick Hunter Angelo State Jr. 14
Alexander Korn West Texas A&M Fr. 14
Brendon West Angelo State Fr. 13.75
Sergio Rios Texas A&M-Kingsville Jr. 11.5
Baptiste Kerjean Abilene Christian Jr. 10
Austin Slone Angelo State Jr. 10
Khalil Henry Texas A&M-Commerce Jr. 10
Anthony Washington Texas A&M-Kingsville Jr. 10
Dallas Gray Angelo State Fr. 9.75
Isidro Garcia Angelo State Jr. 6.5
Robbie Thayer Angelo State Jr. 2.5
Athlete  School  Year Points
Chloe Susset Abilene Christian Sr. 28
Morgan Shelton West Texas A&M Jr. 28
Theresa Sue Angelo State Jr. 27
Lindsey Hinton Tarleton State Jr. 26
Shennae Steele Abilene Christian Jr. 24.5
Lexus Williams Abilene Christian Fr. 22.5
Kimberly Williams Angelo State Jr. 20
Sarah Snider West Texas A&M Jr. 20
Cathryn Rittenberry Angelo State Sr. 17
Shaneve Swift Incarnate Word So. 16.25
Emeline Crutcher Angelo State Jr. 16
Whitney Hargraves Texas A&M-Commerce Jr. 16
Ayesha Rumble Abilene Christian Jr. 14.5
Brenda Sindet West Texas A&M So. 14
Karla Hope Abilene Christian Sr. 13.5
Amanda Ouedraogo Abilene Christian Jr. 12
Nikki McNorton Tarleton State Jr. 12
Jaylen Rodgers Angelo State Fr. 12
Amber Perry Texas A&M-Kingsville Fr. 12
Rachel King West Texas A&M Jr. 10.5
Lauren Hartwick Abilene Christian R-Fr. 10
Summer Sutherland Angelo State Jr. 10
Abigail Leaupepe-Tele Texas A&M-Commerce So. 10
Paula Bowens West Texas A&M Jr. 8.5
Carnisha Simpson West Texas A&M Fr. 6.5

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico