Friday, June 15, 2012

LSC Roundup 6-15

Three stories from George Vondracek on the candidates that have been on campus to interview for the AD position at Texas A&M-Kingsville
A&M-Kingsville AD candidate Chip Smith comfortable in small-school setting ‎
AD candidate Derrick Magee sees big future for A&M-Kingsville ‎
Dennis Toney interviews for A&M-Kingsville AD opening

Texas A&M Commerce Wide Receiver Kenzee Jackson transferring to Louisiana-Monroe, but add 2009 5A offensive player of the year Deric Davis.  Davis spent two years at Trinity Valley CC, redshirting in 2010, before backing up UTSA signee Tucker Carter.  In limited time, Davis threw for 177 yards with 3 TDs, and rushing for another 32 yards and 1 TD.  In his senior year of high school, he threw for 3,100 yards with 39 TDs and just 2 Ints.  He also rushed for 640 yards and 7 TDs.

LSC Commissioner’s Honor Roll announced - LSC Office

A total of 856 student-athletes were named to the Lone Star Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll for the 2011-12 academic year league officials announced Thursday.

This is the second year that the Commissioner’s Honor Roll program is being announced after the conclusion of the spring academic term with student-athletes qualifying based on grade point average for the current academic year. Previously, the honorees qualified by cumulative GPA and were announced by sport at the end of each respective season.

Incarnate Word placed the highest number of student-athletes on the honor roll for the second straight year with 151 members. West Texas A&M was second with 135, while Angelo State ranked third with 93 honorees.

The final count contained 100 students with a flawless 4.0 GPA for the year. WTAMU topped the list of perfect marks with 21 individuals, while ASU had 16, and Texas A&M-Commerce 11. The sport of football had a good number of 4.0’s with 18, followed by softball (12), women’s soccer (11), women’s basketball (9) and women’s track & field (9).

To be eligible for the Commissioner’s Honor Roll, student-athletes must have a minimum 3.30 GPA for the current academic year and be active on the roster.

Click here for  a complete list of the Commissioner’s Honor Roll award winners, listed by institution: 

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Deric is ready to lead this team I am excited about lion football again

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico