Tuesday, July 31, 2012

LSC Preseason Fall Sports Polls

Preseason Football Results

Football: Preseason poll announced
Midwestern State has been selected to repeat as Lone Star Conference football champion, according to the 2012 LSC preseason poll announced Tuesday.

The league's preseason poll reflects the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

The 2012 football season kicks off August 30, and the LSC has nine teams set to compete.  Each team will play a total of eight conference games.

MSU, which claimed the 2011 LSC title with a perfect 8-0 mark, received first-place votes on 19 of the 25 ballots to finish with 215 total points.

Abilene Christian was second with 187 points and five first-place nods, while West Texas A&M was third with 179 points.

Texas A&M-Kingsville was fourth with 158 points and the remaining first-place vote, followed by Tarleton State fifth (131), Angelo State sixth (99), Incarnate Word seventh (74), Eastern New Mexico eighth (43) and Texas A&M-Commerce ninth (39).

The LSC had three teams take part in postseason play last season with MSU and ACU advancing to the NCAA Division II playoffs, while WTAMU played in the Kanza Bowl.

1Midwestern State19215
2Abilene Christian 5187
3West Texas A&M179
4Texas A&M-Kingsville1158
5Tarleton State 131
6Angelo State 99
7Incarnate Word74
8Eastern New Mexico 43
9Texas A&M-Commerce39

Football: ACU’s Gale, TAMUK’s Aguilar receive preseason honors
      SAN ANTONIO, Texas – Abilene Christian’s Mitchell Gale and Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Jeremy Aguilar were tabbed Lone Star Conference Football Preseason Players of the Year for the 2012 season league officials announced Tuesday.
ACU’s Gale was named Offensive Player of the Year, while TAMUK’s Aguilar claimed the Defensive Player of the Year award. 
The league’s preseason awards were selected by a vote of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.
Gale, a 6-2, 220-pound senior from Alva, Okla., enters the 2012 campaign on the verge of putting his name in the history books.  After throwing for 3,823 yards and 28 touchdowns last season, which earned him LSC Offensive Back of the Year acclaim, he now has 9,127 yards and 76 TDs in his three years as the starter.
With 11 votes, Gale edged Midwestern State’s Brandon Kelsey, who received nine votes.      
Aguilar, a 6-1, 235-pound senior from Los Angeles, Calif., is the reigning LSC Linebacker of the Year.  He led the Javelinas with 91 tackles last year while making 14 tackles for loss, 3.5 quarterback sacks and 11 quarterback hurries.
Aguilar was the clear choice with 13 votes ahead of Tarleton State’s Marquis Wadley (four) and six others who garnered votes.

Volleyball Poll
  1. West Texas A&M
  2. Angelo State
  3. Abilene Christian
  4. Tarleton State
  5. Texas Womans
  6. Cameron 
  7. Midwestern State
  8. Texas A&M Kingsville
  9. Texas A&M Commerce
  10. Incarnate Word
  11. Eastern New Mexico

Men's Cross Country

1Eastern New Mexico 18178
2Abilene Christian 2131
3Texas A&M-Commerce 119
4West Texas A&M 113
T5.Angelo State 91
T5.Tarleton State 91
8Texas A&M-Kingsville 50
9Incarnate Word 43

Women's Cross Country
1Midwestern State 21189
2West Texas A&M 146
3Angelo State 134
4Abilene Christian 120
5Eastern New Mexico 105
6Tarleton State 102
7Incarnate Word 83
8Texas A&M-Kingsville 40
9Texas A&M-Commerce 26

Women's Soccer
  1. Abilene Christian
  2. Midwestern State
  3. Texas A&M Commerce
  4. Angelo State
  5. Eastern New Mexico
  6. West Texas A&M
  7. Incarnate Word
  8. Texas Womans

Men's Soccer
  1. Midwestern State
  2. Incarnate Word
  3. West Texas A&M
  4. Eastern New Mexico

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico