Thursday, October 25, 2012

LSC Roundup 10-25

Aaron Mullane 2012
DALLAS – West Texas A&M senior offensive lineman Aaron Mullane was announced as one of 15 college football players named as recipients of the prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete and finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, announced Wednesday by the National Football Foundation.

“It is difficult to put into words what this accomplishment means to me,” Mullane said.  “This past year has been such an exciting time in my life with applying to medical school and being elected as a captain of the football team which I have followed for years before the first time I ever put on a maroon helmet.  I believe just being nominated for this honor was very special, but to be selected as a finalist and as a recipient of this incredible postgraduate honor is a blessing and an honor I will remember for the rest of my life.  This scholarship will go towards paying for my medical education so that I can fulfill my dream of becoming a physician and improving the quality of life for others.”

In all, 147 student-athletes were nominated by their school’s Sports Information Director for the award as 50 came from FBS schools, 35 from FCS institutions, 12 from Division II, 41 from Division III and nine from NAIA.  Mullane was one of two student-athletes nominated from the Lone Star Conference as senior quarterback Wesley Wood of Eastern New Mexico was the other.

“Aaron has been a tremendous leader and the ultimate example of what a student athlete is,” said West Texas A&M head coach Don Carthel.  “His ability to balance his workouts and class schedule, while still performing numerous duties with the medical field and community service projects, speaks volumes as to what kind of young man we have been working with.  He was elected as one of our team captains and his leadership has been crucial to our success as one of the top Division II programs in the country.”

LSC announces cross country honors - LSC Office

WT remains No. 1 in LSC football rankings - Joey Richards, Abilene Reporter News

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico