Monday, November 12, 2012

LSC Roundup 11-12

Pair of LSC teams selected for NCAA Division II football playoffs - LSC Office
Midwestern State and West Texas A&M were selected to represent the Lone Star Conference in the field of 24 teams for the 2012 NCAA Division II Football Championship.  The Mustangs (9-1) are the fifth seed in Super Region Four, while the Buffaloes (9-2) are the sixth seed.

MSU, the co-LSC Champions, plays at No. 4 Indianapolis in the first round on Nov. 17.  The winner advances to meet top seed CSU-Pueblo.  WT, who won a share of the LSC title, faces No. 3 Chadron State in first-round action.  The victor moves on to play Ashland, the No. 2 seed.

Pittsburg State defeated Wayne State (Mich.) in the national championship game to claim the 2011 NCAA title.  The championship game will be played Dec.15, at Braly Municipal Stadium in Florence, Ala.

Super Region Four
1. CSU-Pueblo (11-0)
2. Ashland (11-0)
3. Chadron State (9-2)
4. Indianapolis (9-2)
5. Midwestern State (9-1)
6. West Texas A&M (9-2)

Javelinas football goes on: Team will play in Kanza Bowl - George Vondracek, Corpus Christi Caller Times

Poppell, Javelinas top Greyhounds in finale - George Vondracek, Corpus Christi Caller Times
ASU falls to Tarleton State in finale - Paul Harris, San Angelo Standard Times
Efficient finish - J. Scott Russell, Times Record News
This MSU trio gives originals a good run - Nick Gholson, Times Record News
WT rips Commerce for share of LSC Crown - Mark Haslett, Amarillo Globe News


Rams open season with comeback victory - Charles Bryce, San Angelo Standard Times

The teams are set for the annual Lone Star Conference Volleyball Championship Tournament, which begins Thursday in San Angelo, Texas.

Angelo State earned the right to host the event as the league's champion for the first time since 1992 with an 18-2 record.

The eight-team, single-elimination tournament consists of four first-round matches on Thursday, followed by two semifinal games on Friday evening and the championship match on Saturday afternoon.

The top eight teams in the LSC will compete for the 2012 tournament championship.  In addition to winning the title, the LSC tournament winner will receive the league's automatic berth into the NCAA Division II Championship tournament.

All the championship games will be aired live via internet video streaming at  The webcasts are available free of charge.  Each webcast includes both video and audio, with viewers needing only a computer with a high-speed DSL or cable modem connection to the internet.  Veteran broadcaster Chris Needham has the call for all the games.

Action starts on Thursday at 12 p.m. with No. 3 Tarleton State against No. 6 Texas A&M-Kingsville followed by No. 2 West Texas A&M versus No. 7 Abilene Christian at 2:30 p.m., No. 4 Texas Woman’s against No. 5 Texas A&M-Commerce at 5 p.m. and No. 1 ASU versus No. 8 Incarnate Word at 7:30 p.m.

WTAMU won the 2011 LSC volleyball tournament championship with a 3-0 victory over ASU in Canyon, Texas.

LSC Volleyball Championship
November 15-16-17, 2012 in San Angelo, Texas
Thursday, Nov. 15
Match 1: No. 3 Tarleton State vs. No. 6 Texas A&M-Kingsville, 12 p.m.
Match 2: No. 2 West Texas A&M vs. No. 7 Abilene Christian, 2:30 p.m.
Match 3: No. 4 Texas Woman’s vs. No. 5 Texas A&M-Commerce, 5 p.m.
Match 4: No. 1 Angelo State vs. No. 8 Incarnate Word, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 16
Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2, 5 p.m.
Match 6: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 17
Match 7: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 2 p.m. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico