Monday, December 17, 2012

Javelinas Head Coach Bo Atterberry and A&M-Kingsville Part Ways

More from Tyler Garrett, KRISTV

KINGSVILLE - Multiple sources have confirmed to us that A&M-Kingsville will announce David Calloway as their new Head Football Coach. Calloway will replace Bo Atterberry who resigned on Friday from the university.  We are the first media outlet to announce the hiring, which will become official at 6pm.
Click here to read about Atterberry's Resignation.
This will be Calloway's first Head Coach Position at the college level. He has spent 6 seasons as the Javelinas' Defensive Coordinator.  Prior to that he was the defensive line coach at Southeastern Oklahoma and before that the defensive coordinator at Langston (Okla.) during the 2004 and 2005 seasons and at Hastings (Neb.) College from 2000 through 2003.  While with A&M-Kingsville, Calloway has produced multiple All-Americans including Jeremy Aguilar and Roderick Mosley.
Calloway becomes the 9th A&M-Kingsville Head Coach since 1925.
We will have an interview with him tonight at 10pm in Sports.
Click here to follow the Friday Night Fever on Facebook.Click here to follow us on Twitter: @KRISsports.


From the TAMK Athletic Department
Atterberry Resigns To Pursue Other Opportunities
KINGSVILLE, Texas – Texas A&M University-Kingsville head football coach Bo Atterberry has resigned his post to pursue other career opportunities. The resignation takes effect December 31, 2012.

Atterberry directed Javelina football for the past six seasons and leaves the coaching post with many accomplishments. Posting a mark of 41-28, including four consecutive winning seasons, Atterberry led the 2012 Javelinas to a third-place finish in the Lone Star Conference, a Kanza Bowl bid, and he was named Lone Star Conference co-Coach of the Year.

Beginning with the second game of the 2009 season, Atterberry led the Javelinas to 27 consecutive Top 25 rankings, and in 2009 and 2010 his Javelinas defeated six ranked opponents along the way to consecutive NCAA playoff appearances. His win total through six seasons was impressive, equaling that of College Football Hall of Fame coach Gil Steinke and Javelina Hall of Fame coach Richard Cundiff in their first six campaigns with the Javelinas.

Atterberry’s 2009 Javelinas won the Lone Star Conference title, and he was a finalist for the Liberty Mutual National Coach of Year that same year. He guided the 2010 Javelinas to a 10-2 mark, the program’s first 10-win regular season in 21 years, and he was named the American Football Coaches Association Regional Coach of the Year.

Off the field, Atterberry consistently supported community and university initiatives, and during his tenure Javelina Athletics won the Lone Star Conference Award of Excellence for community engagement and game-day atmosphere three consecutive years, the LSC SAAC Cup every year since inception, and in 2010 led the nation in per game football attendance.

“I am both thankful for and blessed by my time here at Texas A&M-Kingsville,” said Atterberry. “I appreciate the support of the Javelina community, and, most importantly, I am grateful for the time, effort, and commitment of our student-athletes and assistant coaches. This is simply an opportune time for me to pursue other career opportunities.”

Update from KRIS-TV (big thanks to Tyler Garrett)
A&M-Kingsville Head Coach Bo Atterberry has resigned from A&M-Kingsville. We were the first in town to break the news that he was a finalist for the Arkansas Tech job, which he did not get. Atterberry was 41-28 at A&M-Kingsville over 6-seasons. He officially resigned on Friday, this information comes from members of the Javelina staff.

KIII-TV in Corpus Christi is reporting that Texas A&M Kingsville and head football coach Bo Atterberry "have mutually agreed to part ways, according to a source."

They are also reporting that defensive coordinator would be a leading candidate to replace Atterberry.

We will have updates as new details emerge.

Bo Atterberry
David Calloway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico