Tuesday, July 30, 2013

LSC Football Media Day - Live Updates

Keep checking in for updates

Stan Wagnon is at the podium...

Discussing new rules - targeting rules to protect players (15 yard penalty, automatic ejection)

New partnership with the Heart of Texas Bowl (Copperas Cove Texas)

Talking about the two week football playoff starting in 2014...

McMurry will join LSC for football in 2014 (unclear if in all sports or just football)

Football Festival is next topic, LSC has contract through 2015

Now getting to preseason awards and poll...

Preseason Players of year
Offense - Dustin Vaughan, WTAM
Defense - Ethan Westbrooks, WTAM

Preseason Poll
1. West Texas A&M (16 first place votes) - 141
2. Midwestern State (3) - 124
3. Tarleton State (1) - 99
4. Texas A&M-Kingsville (1) - 82
5. Angelo State - 69
6. Eastern New Mexico - 39
7. Texas Commerce - 34

We will update with videos later in the day

Monday, July 29, 2013

LSC Football Media Day

The Lone Star Conference's annual football preseason media day begins at 12 p.m. with opening remarks by LSC Commissioner Stan Wagnon.  After a preview of the upcoming season, the preseason poll and awards will be announced.  The webstream wraps up with comments from all seven LSC head coaches and select football student-athletes in the reverse order of the poll.

The 2013 football season kicks off September 5, and the LSC has seven teams set to compete.  Each team will play six conference games.
The LSC had three teams take part in postseason play last season with West Texas A&M and Midwestern State advancing to the NCAA Division II playoffs, while Texas A&M-Kingsville played in the Kanza Bowl.

2013 LSC Football Preseason Media Day Schedule
12:00 p.m.                   Program begins
12:00-12:08 p.m.         Welcome and opening remarks (Commissioner Wagnon)
12:08-12:10 p.m.         Football preview
12:10-12:15 p.m.         Announcement of Football preseason poll/awards
12:15-1:00 p.m.           Remarks from LSC Football Coaches and Players (Reverse order of poll)

2013 LSC Football Preseason Media Day Attendees
Angelo State
Will Wagner, head football coach
Isi Cocker (OL, Sr., Euless, Texas)
Rush Seaver (LB, Jr., Lampasas, Texas)

Eastern New Mexico
Josh Lynn, head football coach
Colton Bowen (OL, Jr., Grand Prairie, Texas)

Midwestern State
Bill Maskill, head football coach
Keidrick Jackson (RB, Sr., Arlington, Texas)

Tarleton State
Cary Fowler, head football coach
Clifton Rhodes III (WR, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas)
Dashaun Phillips (DB, Sr., Duncanville, Texas)

Texas A&M-Commerce
Colby Carthel, head football coach
Tevin Moore (DL, Sr., Dallas, Texas)

Texas A&M-Kingsville
David Calloway, head football coach
Robert Armstrong (WR, Sr., Cuero, Texas)
Zane Brown (DT, Sr., Houston, Texas)

West Texas A&M
Don Carthel, head football coach
Dustin Vaughan (QB, Sr., Corpus Christi, Texas)
Sergio Castillo, Jr (K, Sr., La Joya, Texas) 

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

LSC Preseason Volleyball Poll and Honors announced

Volleyball preseason poll announced
West Texas A&M is a slight favorite to capture the Lone Star Conference title, according to the 2013 LSC preseason volleyball poll announced Tuesday.

      The league's preseason polls reflect the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

      WT (33-5 overall, 17-3 LSC) claimed its seventh straight and 14th overall LSC Tournament title and 12th Regional Championship to advance to the Elite Eight last season.

      The Lady Buffs earned first-place votes on 12 of the 25 ballots for a total of 211 points.  Angelo State, the reigning LSC Champions, was a close second with 10 first-place nods to finish with 208. 

      Texas Woman's was third with 161 points and the remaining three first-place votes, while Tarleton State was fourth (155), Texas A&M-Commerce fifth (113), and Texas A&M-Kingsville sixth (101).

      Midwestern State (81), Cameron (62), and Eastern New Mexico (33) rounded out the poll.

      The 2013 volleyball season begins in early September, with nine teams set to compete.  LSC teams will use a one-conference double round-robin scheduling model, in which each team plays a home and away match against each of the other teams.

      The LSC champion will be the regular season winner determined by league matches, while the postseason tournament winner is designated as LSC Tournament Champion and earns the conference's automatic qualification.  The top six teams in the final conference standings qualify for the postseason tournament set for Thursday, Friday and Saturday, November 21-22-23, at the No. 1 seed.

1West Texas A&M12211
2Angelo State 10208
3Texas Woman's3161
4Tarleton State 155
5Texas A&M-Commerce113
6Texas A&M-Kingsville101
7Midwestern State81
9Eastern New Mexico 33

LSC Volleyball preseason honors announced
Three Lone Star Conference volleyball standouts were honored Tuesday as league officials announced the 2013 Preseason Players of the Year.

      Angelo State's Maddie Huth and Shelby Wilt were tabbed Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively.  Jordan Neal of Texas A&M-Commerce was named Setter of the Year.

      The league's preseason awards were selected by a vote of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

      Huth, a senior middle blocker from The Colony, Texas, earned offensive honors with 15 of the 25 votes over seven others. She had 387 kills last season and finished the year with a .355 hitting percentage. Huth led the Belles with 131 blocks and was named to the South Central All-Tournament team, AVCA South Central All-Region Team, and  All-LSC first-team.

      Wilt, a junior defensive specialist from Dalhart, Texas, was the top choice for defensive recognition with 14 votes to finish in front of West Texas A&M's Laura Iwuchukwu and two others.  She led the Belles for the second straight season in digs with 649. Wilt was an AVCA All-South Central Honorable Mention selection in addition to the LSC's Libero of the Year and a first-team all-conference selection.

       Neal, a senior from Joshua, Texas, was the clear selection for Setter of the Year with 21 votes to top four others.  She averaged 10.50 assists, 2.75 digs, 0.52 kills and 1.14 points per set while hitting .157 to earn All-LSC second team honors. 

      These talented players will lead their teams into the 2013 season, which begins in early September.  The LSC has nine teams set to compete utilizing a one-conference double round-robin scheduling model, in which each team will play a home and away match against each of the other teams.

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico