Thursday, May 8, 2014

News from around the LSC

LSC announces Track & Field awards
track wt tamuk

Outstanding Male Track Athlete (Cap Shelton Award): Tim Price, Texas A&M-Kingsville
Outstanding Male Field Athlete (Oscar Strahan Award): Zach Weatherly, West Texas A&M
Men's Track & Field Coach of the Year: Ryan Dall, Texas A&M-Kingsville
Outstanding Female Track Athlete (Wes Kittley Award): Libby Strickland, West Texas A&M
Outstanding Female Field Athletes (David Noble Award): Libby Strickland, West Texas A&M
Women's Track & Field Coach of the Year:  James R. Reid, Angelo State
(Complete Story)


Baseball Rankings
LSC Scoop Regional Rankings
1. Colorado Mesa - 64.7
2. St. Edwards - 60.1
3. Texas A&M-Kingsville - 59.6
4. West Texas A&M - 59.5
5. St. Mary's - 55.8
6. New Mexico Highlands - 55.4
7. Tarleton State - 53.6
8. Angelo State - 53.2

NCAA Regional Rankings (w/our postseason predictions)
1. Colorado Mesa - In and will host the SC Regional tournament
2. West Texas A&M - In, but could fall in seeding w/poor LSC tournament
3. Texas A&M-Kingsville - Same as West Texas A&M
4. New Mexico Highlands - bubble, need a win or two in tournament and not have 3 longshots win their tourneys
5. St. Edward's - close, but need to either win tournament or have one of teams above win their tournament
6. St. Mary's - bubble, need a good showing in tournament and no upset winners in LSC or RMAC
7. Tarleton State - will likely need to win LSC tournament to get in, could sneak in w/a good showing and no wins for NMHU or St. Mary's
8. Colorado State - Pueblo

Conference Tournaments
Lone Star  - Participants - Texas A&M-Kingsville, West Texas A&M, Tarleton State, Angelo State (Tarleton wins game one 8-4 over West Texas A&M, Angelo State wins game two 7-6, TAMK and WT to face off in elimination game) 
Title Game web stream

Heartland (Live Video & Stats) - St. Edward's, St. Mary's, Newman, UA-Fort Smith

Rocky Mountain - Colorado Mesa, New Mexico Highlands, Colorado St Pueblo, Colorado Mines

LSC Baseball: Postseason awards announced
LSC Baseball: Academic awards announced by LSC


Softball NCAA Playoff News
Five Lone Star Conference softball teams were selected to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division II Softball Championship.  LSC Championship West Texas A&M and LSC Tournament Champion Angelo State are the top two seeds and will each host one of the four-team South Central Regional double-elimination tournaments.

Follow South Central 1 Regional at Canyon, Texas

Follow South Central 2 Regional at San Angelo, Texas

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico