Thursday, February 26, 2015


indoor academic

Harding's Ewa Zaborowska and Texas A&M-Kingsville's Michal Idziak were named Lone Star Conference Academic Athletes of the Year on Thursday when league officials announced the LSC's annual academic awards for men's and women's indoor track and field.

      Zaborowska was the top choice for the third consecutive year and joined by 10 standouts on the LSC Women's All-Academic Team, while Idziak led a group of 11 track and field stars on the LSC Men's All-Academic Team.

     A senior accounting major from Wejherowo, Poland, Zaborowska has posted automatic qualifying times in the 800 meters, mile and 3,000 meters.  She has the top LSC time in all three events, and ranks first in NCAA Division II in the 3,000, and second in the 800 and mile.
     Idziak, a junior criminology major from Mosina, Poland, has the fastest 800 meter time in the LSC, which topped his own school record.  His performance ranks 11th in Division II.
     To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.30 grade point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Player of Year award and All-Academic Team are selected from the list of academically qualified players, with the league's sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement.
     On the women's team with Zaborowska was WT's Bri Leeper, Emma Love, Libby Strickland, and Malika Ouedraogo; TAMUK's Kathy Trevino; Midwestern State's Cara Mack; ENMU's Beth Blind; TSU's Sarah Brown; and Angelo State's Jaylen Rodgers and Jordan Gray.
     Joining Idziak on the men's all-academic team was fellow Javelina Javan Gray; West Texas A&M's Zach Daniel, Baptiste Moreu, and Arnau Erta; Harding's Lucas Goodspeed; Texas A&M-Commerce's Dorian McCradic, Hendrik Nungess, and Dexter Lee; Eastern New Mexico's Scott Wesselink; and Tarleton State's Peyton Best.
     Overall, 22 men and women were selected to the All-Academic teams including a trio of three-time selections (Zaborowska, Love and Mack), along with seven repeat picks (Moreu, McCradic, Best, Leeper, Strickland, Blind, and Rodgers).

Player Team Yr. Major  Hometown
Michal IdziakTexas A&M-KingsvilleJr.CriminologyMosina, Poland
Javan GrayTexas A&M-KingsvilleSr.ManagementSpringfield, Ore.
Zach DanielWest Texas A&MJr.Sports & Exercise ScienceCrane, Texas
Lucas GoodspeedHardingSo.AccountingSugar Land, Texas
Baptiste MoreuWest Texas A&MSr.FinanceAuray, France
Dorian McCradicTexas A&M-CommerceJr.Biological ScienceGeorgetown, Texas
Hendrik NungessTexas A&M-CommerceSo.Environmental ScienceNeu-Isenberg, Germany
Scott WesselinkEastern New MexicoSr.Wildlife and Fishery SciencesAlbuquerque, N.M.
Arnau ErtaWest Texas A&MSr.Mass Comm./BroadcastingLlieda, Spain
Peyton BestTarleton StateJr.BusinessSalado, Texas
Dexter LeeTexas A&M-CommerceSo.ManagementAllen, Texas
LSC Men's Indoor Track & Field Academic Player of the Year: Michal Idziak, Texas A&M-Kingsville
Player Team Yr. Major  Hometown 
Ewa ZaborowskaHardingSr.AccountingWejherowo, Poland
Bri LeeperWest Texas A&MJr.Broadcasting/Electronic MediaAmarillo, Texas
Kathy TrevinoTexas A&M-KingsvilleSr.CounselingRio Grande City, Texas
Emma LoveWest Texas A&MSr.Sports & Exercise ScienceSan Antonio, Texas
Cara MackMidwestern StateSr.MathematicsLlano, Texas
Libby StricklandWest Texas A&MJr.Health SciencesAmarillo, Texas
Malika OuedraogoWest Texas A&MSo.PR/Mass CommunicationsAntony, France
Beth BlindEastern New MexicoSr.Animal and Dairy Science Kennedale, Texas
Sarah BrownTarleton StateSo.HistoryComfort, Texas
Jaylen RodgersAngelo StateSr.Exercise ScienceHamlin, Texas
Jordan GrayAngelo StateSr.EnglishMarble Falls, Texas
LSC Women's Indoor Track & Field Academic Player of the Year: Ewa Zaborowska, Harding

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico