Tuesday, July 28, 2015


From the LSC Website

Angelo State was picked as the favorite to win the Lone Star Conference football title, according to the 2015 LSC preseason poll announced Tuesday.

      The league's preseason poll reflects the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

      ASU, which captured the 2014 LSC Playoffs Championship, earned first place votes on 17 of the 21 ballots to finish with 142 points.  The Rams were 9-3 season and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division II Championship.

      Defending LSC Champion Texas A&M-Commerce was picked second with 111 points and the remaining four first-place tallies on the heels of a 9-3 campaign last season.

      Midwestern State ranked third with 89 points just ahead of Tarleton State in fourth (85) and West Texas A&M fifth (82).  Eastern New Mexico (57) and Texas A&M-Kingsville (22) rounded out the poll.

      The season kicks off September 3, and the LSC has seven teams set to compete in 2015.  After playing six conference games apiece over the first nine weeks of an 11-week regular season, the league's football teams will split into two brackets to conduct a two-week conference playoff.  The conference champion and playoff seeding will be determined by regular season results.

      The top four teams (No. 4 at No. 1 and No. 3 at No. 2) comprise the championship bracket with Week 10 winners playing for the playoff title in Week 11, whereas Week 10 losers will meet for third place. The other half of the bracket includes the remaining three teams and Oklahoma Panhandle State with No. 5 at OPSU and No. 7 at No. 6 in Week 10.  The 7-6 winner plays at No. 5 for fifth-place in Week 11, while the 6-7 loser hosts OPSU.

      Additionally, the Lone Star Football Festival comes back to AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas for the fifth straight year in 2015 with three games on Saturday, September 19.  MSU faces ENMU, and TSU goes against WT in LSC action, while ASU plays Bacone in a non-conference contest.

      The event starts at 11:30 a.m. with MSU-ENMU, followed by WT-TSU at 3:30 p.m., and ASU-Bacone at 7:30 p.m. to conclude the football-filled day.

      A single ticket will be good for admission to all three games at the festival.  The best place for fans to purchase tickets is in the athletic ticket office of each participating team.  Advance purchases through the teams will be rewarded with rates of $25 for adults and $10 for students, while sales through Ticketmaster and game-day pricing at the AT&T Stadium ticket windows will be $30 for adults and $15 for students. 

      A pair of LSC teams were included in postseason play last season, with Angelo State advancing to the NCAA Division II playoffs, and Texas A&M-Commerce playing in the C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl.

1Angelo State 17142
2Texas A&M-Commerce4111
3Midwestern State 89
4Tarleton State 85
5West Texas A&M82
6Eastern New Mexico 57
7Texas A&M-Kingsville22



Angelo State's Kyle Washington and Texas A&M-Commerce's Toni Pulu were named Lone Star Conference Football Preseason Players of the Year for the 2015 season league officials announced Tuesday.

      ASU's Washington was tabbed Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight year, while A&M-C's Pulu claimed the Defensive Player of the Year award. 

      The league's preseason awards were selected by a vote of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

      Washington, a 6-5, 205-pound senior from Humble, Texas, was the first quarterback in ASU history to throw for over 3,000 yards with 3,236 yards in 2014. He threw 34 passing touchdowns, which tied for fifth in NCAA Division II last season, and rushed for nine more on the ground. Washington was also fifth nationally in total offensive yard per game at 345.6. He completed 63.5-percent of this throws and averaged 269.7 yards per game through the air while accounting for 258 of the Rams school record 473 points. He was named to the Don Hansen All-America team, BSN All-America Team, Don Hansen All-Region team, Daktronics All-Region Four second team, BSN All-Region Team and tabbed LSC Offensive Player of the Year and LSC Academic Player of the Year.

      With 14 votes, Washington was the clear choice in front of West Texas A&M's Geremy Alridge-Mitchell (five votes) and two others who each received one vote.

      Pulu, a 6-3, 285-pound senior from Provo, Utah, was the LSC Defensive Player of the Year after being one of the driving forces for the Lions, who ranked first in NCAA Division II in team tackles for loss in 2014.  He had 19 tackles for loss, which was second in the LSC and tied for 16th in Division II.  Pulu recorded 7.5 sacks, which ranked third in the league.  He was the Lions fifth leading tackler with 53 stops including 24 solo and 29 assisted efforts.

      Pulu received seven votes to top ASU's Clayton Callicutt (five votes) and Rush Seaver (two votes), A&M-C's Charles Woods (three votes), and four others who each received one nod. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University


Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico