Thursday, July 27, 2017

LSC Football Media Day

LSC Commissioner sees good things ahead - Kale Steed, Amarillo Globe News

Place  Team   (1st place votes)    total points
  1. Texas A&M Commerce (21)   229
  2. Midwestern State (2)   192
  3. Texas A&M Kingsville (1)   177
  4. Eastern New Mexico (0)   136
  5. Tarleton State (1)   135
  6. Angelo State (0)   114
  7. West Texas A&M (0)   97
  8. (tie) Western New Mexico (0) and UT-Permian Basin (1)   45

Offensive POY - Luis Perez, QB Texas A&M Commerce
Offensive POY - Kamal Cass, RB Eastern New Mexico
Defensive POY - Brandon Jones, DE Texas A&M Kingsville

Buffs picked 7th in LSC Preseason Poll - Kale Steed, Amarillo Globe News
Buffs picked seventh - WTAM Sports
UTPB Football kicks off 2017 at LSC Media Day - UTPB Sports

Football Preseason Poll Announced - LSC Office
Texas A&M-Commerce was selected to repeat as the Lone Star Conference football champions according to the 2017 LSC preseason poll announced Thursday.

The league's preseason poll reflects the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

A&M-C, who claimed its third straight LSC title with an 8-1 league record last season, earned first place votes on 21 of the 26 ballots to total 229 points. The Lions were 10-2 in 2016 including a NCAA Division II playoff appearance.

Midwestern State received two first-place nods to finish second with 192 points following an 8-3 campaign last season.

Texas A&M-Kingsville ranked third with 177 points in front of Eastern New Mexico (136) and Tarleton State (135). Angelo State (114), West Texas A&M (97), Western New Mexico (45) and UT Permian Basin (45) rounded out the poll.

TAMUK, TSU and UTPB each collected one of the remaining first-place votes.

The season kicks off August 31 and the LSC has nine teams set to compete in 2017. Each team will play eight conference games to determine the LSC Champion.

Four LSC teams participated in postseason play last season, with A&M-C and MSU advancing to the NCAA Division II playoffs, ENMU playing in the C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl, and TAMUK in the Live United Bowl.


Eastern New Mexico’s Kamal Cass, Texas A&M-Commerce’s Luis Perez, and Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Brandon Jones were named Lone Star Conference Football Preseason Players of the Year for the 2017 season league officials announced Thursday.

ENMU’s Cass and A&M-C’s Perez shared Offensive Player of the Year recognition, while TAMUK’s Jones earned the Defensive Player of the Year award.

The league’s preseason awards were selected by a vote of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

Cass, a 5-11, 185-pound senior running back from Clovis, New Mexico, was named LSC Offensive Back of the Year after leading the league with 1,191 rushing yards and 108.3 yards per game last season. He paced the nation's second leading rushing attack while finding the end zone in nine of 11 games for 14 touchdowns.

Perez, a 6-3, 220-pound senior quarterback from Chula Vista, California, earned first-team All-LSC honors with a league-high 3,326 passing yards, 277.2 yards per game and 32 touchdowns. He set the school record for TD passes including a career-high five touchdown passes twice last season.

With 11 votes each, Cass and Perez were the top choices in front of three others who received votes.

Jones, a 6-3, 250-pound junior defensive lineman from Houston, Texas, claimed both Defensive Player of the Year (J.V. Sikes award) and Defensive Lineman of the Year acclaim last season. He recorded a LSC-best 9.5 sacks along with 49 tackles and 11.5 tackles for loss.

Jones received 21 votes for preseason acclaim over four others that collected votes.

Lone Star Conference

Angelo State University

Cameron University

Eastern New Mexico University

Texas A&M-Commerce

Tarleton State University

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Texas Woman's College

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

West Texas A&M University

Western New Mexico